Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Getting BSOD very often lately on Windows 7!


  • Please log in to reply

#1
sour11

sour11

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
Hi there! Lately I've been getting the BSOD using Windows 7 x64. I haven't installed anything new or changed any hardware/software settings in a long time. It most often happens out of nowhere, browsing youtube, or just idling on the desktop, rather then when using or doing a specific thing. I've attached 4 files from the program "bluescreenview", and any help would be awesome, thanks!





==================================================
Dump File : 020213-17877-01.dmp
Crash Time : 2/2/2013 4:38:22 AM
Bug Check String : KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
Bug Check Code : 0x0000001e
Parameter 1 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 2 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 3 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver : tcpip.sys
Caused By Address : tcpip.sys+4047c
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+7ef90
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\020213-17877-01.dmp
Processors Count : 8
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 291,544
==================================================

==================================================
Dump File : 013113-16692-01.dmp
Crash Time : 1/31/2013 1:09:59 AM
Bug Check String : KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
Bug Check Code : 0x0000001e
Parameter 1 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 2 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 3 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver : mv91xx.sys
Caused By Address : mv91xx.sys+28fb7
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+7ef90
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\013113-16692-01.dmp
Processors Count : 8
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 291,152
==================================================

==================================================
Dump File : 010913-16239-01.dmp
Crash Time : 1/9/2013 12:43:09 AM
Bug Check String : KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
Bug Check Code : 0x0000001e
Parameter 1 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 2 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 3 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver : tcpip.sys
Caused By Address : tcpip.sys+5cf9e
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+7ef90
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\010913-16239-01.dmp
Processors Count : 8
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 291,520
==================================================

==================================================
Dump File : 122212-25771-01.dmp
Crash Time : 12/22/2012 7:19:02 PM
Bug Check String : KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
Bug Check Code : 0x0000001e
Parameter 1 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 2 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 3 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver : mv91xx.sys
Caused By Address : mv91xx.sys+20050
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+7ef90
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\122212-25771-01.dmp
Processors Count : 8
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 287,808
==================================================

Edited by sour11, 02 February 2013 - 03:59 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
:welcome: sour11 and I am sorry to hear of your issue. Below is the explanation of your error followed by the first step we need to take to resolve it.


0x0000001E: KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
The Windows kernel detected an illegal or unknown processor instruction. A Stop 0x1E condition can be caused by invalid memory and access violations similar to those that generate Stop 0xA errors. This default Windows error handler typically intercepts these problems if error-handling routines are not present in the code itself.




A If you have more than one RAM module installed, try starting computer with one RAM stick at a time.

NOTE Keep in mind, the manual check listed above is always superior to the software check, listed below. DO NOT proceed with memtest, if you can go with option A

B. If you have only one RAM stick installed...
...run memtest...


1. Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip). If you prefer to use the USB version then use this link USB KEY
2. Unzip downloaded /memtest86+-4.20.iso.zip file.
3. Inside, you'll find /memtest86+-4.20.iso file.
4. Download, and install ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/
5. Insert blank CD into your CD drive.
6. Open ImgBurn, and click on Write image file to disc
7. Click on Browse for a file... icon:

Posted Image

8. Locate memtest86+-4.20.iso file, and click Open button.
9. Click on ImgBurn green arrow to start burning bootable memtest86 CD:

Posted Image

10. Once the CD is created, boot from it, and memtest will automatically start to run. You may have to change the boot sequence in your BIOS to make it work right.

To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS

Reboot the system and at the first post screen (where it is counting up memory) start tapping the DEL button
This will enter you into the Bios\Cmos area.
Find the Advanced area and click Enter
Look for Boot Sequence or Boot Options and highlight that click Enter
Now highlight the first drive and follow the directions on the bottom of the screen on how to modify it and change it to CDrom.
Change the second drive to the C or Main Drive
Once that is done then click F10 to Save and Exit
You will prompted to enter Y to verify Save and Exit. Click Y and the system will now reboot with the new settings.


The running program will look something like this depending on the size and number of ram modules installed:


Posted Image

It's recommended to run 5-6 passes. Each pass contains very same 8 tests.

This will show the progress of the test. It can take a while. Be patient, or leave it running overnight.

Posted Image

The following image is the test results area:

Posted Image

The most important item here is the “errors” line. If you see ANY errors, even one, most likely, you have bad RAM.
  • 1

#3
sour11

sour11

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
Hi, sorry for the long time it took me to reply back to this message, but I ran 5 passes of the error check you told me to run which apparently showed no errors. Here's the screen after 5 passes:


Posted Image



I have a few more questions. First, can it possibly be a program installed that is conflicting with the operating system, or that blue-screen code that I posted has specifically to do with memory? What can I do from here to further check into this and get to the bottom of the BSOD? I did add more memory myself months ago, but I do remember blue screens happening prior to that, but I'm not sure what the code was back then. Also, I have 14 gigs of ram installed, (put in the ram slots), but when I right click on my computer and click properties it only shows that 8 gigs are installed. The PC came with 8, I added the 6 gigs myself in the empty ram slots. They are all the same brand of corsair ram. What could be making it show only 8 gigs of ram are installed instead of the full 14, and can this be a problem or something that might cause a BSOD? Thanks in advance for all the help.

Edited by sour11, 30 March 2013 - 12:07 AM.

  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
We have only begun and I had you run the memory check first since it is a memory related error. Yes it can be caused by a program and maybe even a updated driver.
The next step I would like you to do is try booting into safe mode and see if the issue happens there. If not then we can surmise that it is either a driver, service or a program causing the issue.
  • 1

#5
sour11

sour11

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

We have only begun and I had you run the memory check first since it is a memory related error. Yes it can be caused by a program and maybe even a updated driver.
The next step I would like you to do is try booting into safe mode and see if the issue happens there. If not then we can surmise that it is either a driver, service or a program causing the issue.


So just use safemode from here on out and hope it happens basically?
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
No Safe Mode is used for Diagnostics and we are only attempting to see if there is a driver or a service causing the issue. In Safe mode the OS only loads generic drivers and needed services. A lot of services are not used so it takes that possibility to the bare minimum. Loading of generic drivers will tell us if it is a specialized driver that is causing the error. Run it for a day doing what you normally do. You can boot into Safe Mode With networking to be able to use the internet if you want.
Run a day or unless a error occurs. Make sure to get the error info if it happens.
  • 1

#7
sour11

sour11

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Hi, sorry for the long time it took me to reply back to this message, but I ran 5 passes of the error check you told me to run which apparently showed no errors. Here's the screen after 5 passes:


Posted Image



I have a few more questions. First, can it possibly be a program installed that is conflicting with the operating system, or that blue-screen code that I posted has specifically to do with memory? What can I do from here to further check into this and get to the bottom of the BSOD? I did add more memory myself months ago, but I do remember blue screens happening prior to that, but I'm not sure what the code was back then. Also, I have 14 gigs of ram installed, (put in the ram slots), but when I right click on my computer and click properties it only shows that 8 gigs are installed. The PC came with 8, I added the 6 gigs myself in the empty ram slots. They are all the same brand of corsair ram. What could be making it show only 8 gigs of ram are installed instead of the full 14, and can this be a problem or something that might cause a BSOD? Thanks in advance for all the help.



After running in safe mode for a few days I haven't had any issues. Back in normal boot mode a few minutes ago I was watching a video on youtube and had a BSOD. (not sure if its a coincidence, but more then 75% of the time its when I'm watching a video on youtube is when I get a BSOD).



Here is the error log of what happened a few mins ago from blue screen view.

==================================================
Dump File : 041113-16504-01.dmp
Crash Time : 4/11/2013 2:55:55 AM
Bug Check String : KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
Bug Check Code : 0x0000001e
Parameter 1 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 2 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 3 : 00000000`00000000
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000000
Caused By Driver :
Caused By Address :
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Crash Address :
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\041113-16504-01.dmp
Processors Count : 8
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 7601
Dump File Size : 262,144
==================================================


Also in the bottom part of blue screen view this file was highlighted in a reddish color:

==================================================
Filename : ntoskrnl.exe
Address In Stack : ntoskrnl.exe+7e7f9
From Address : fffff800`03416000
To Address : fffff800`039fd000
Size : 0x005e7000
Time Stamp : 0x50e79935
Time String : 1/4/2013 11:08:37 PM
Product Name : Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
File Description : NT Kernel & System
File Version : 6.1.7601.18044 (win7sp1_gdr.130104-1431)
Company : Microsoft Corporation
Full Path : C:\Windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
==================================================



Posted Image

Edited by sour11, 11 April 2013 - 01:08 AM.

  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
SFC /Scannow Win7

Go HERE and read the tutorial that shows how to do SFC or System File Checker and running in a Elevated Command Prompt in Vista and Win7.
  • 1

#9
juliadexter

juliadexter

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
You need to update drivers of hardware and other installed devices
Run Complete scan of your system with good antivirus
Run "sfc/scannow' in the command prompt

  • 1

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Juliadexter I thank you for your response but please look at the post I made prior to yours. I have instructed sour11 to run the SFC with instructions on how to do it within Win7.
The logs show a possible OS issue first and that is where we have started to investigate.
Secondly the drivers could be the issue but I have not gotten to that point yet to investigate those.
Thirdly the possibility of a infection is something that is not done outside of the malware forum and in this case there is no evidence of a infection being present. No malware advice is allowed outside of the malware forum and even then only by the trained malware staff.
Again I do appreciate your input and welcome it in any topic but make sure what you are suggesting has not already been suggested. :thumbsup:
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
sour11

sour11

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Juliadexter I thank you for your response but please look at the post I made prior to yours. I have instructed sour11 to run the SFC with instructions on how to do it within Win7.
The logs show a possible OS issue first and that is where we have started to investigate.
Secondly the drivers could be the issue but I have not gotten to that point yet to investigate those.
Thirdly the possibility of a infection is something that is not done outside of the malware forum and in this case there is no evidence of a infection being present. No malware advice is allowed outside of the malware forum and even then only by the trained malware staff.
Again I do appreciate your input and welcome it in any topic but make sure what you are suggesting has not already been suggested. :thumbsup:



Drivers are all up to date and I am virus free. About to run the sfc now.

Edited by sour11, 11 April 2013 - 08:31 AM.

  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Follow my instructions in post 8 to run the SFC in Win7.
  • 0

#13
sour11

sour11

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts

Follow my instructions in post 8 to run the SFC in Win7.


Seems to have found some corrupt files. I'm trying to attach the log file, but its not letting me.

Posted Image


Any specific site I should use to upload the log file? Its 35mb, to big to attach here.

Edited by sour11, 11 April 2013 - 09:09 AM.

  • 0

#14
sour11

sour11

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 72 posts
SFC LOG FILE:

http://www.filedropper.com/cbs
  • 0

#15
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK it found corrupt files but did it replace them or repair them?
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP