Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New laptop want to switch to SSD's

• Please log in to reply

woodrow896

woodrow896

• PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
Hi

Buying a new HP dv6t-7300 SATA 3 laptop i7 3740qm 2.7GHz processor and want to instal an SSD or maybe 2 of them.

I have a Intel 520 in a i7 machine now and it works well...fast. I am no expert but seem to get by and need to get educated a little.

What would be the fastest most reliable 120 GB SSD's out there ?...Might as well optimize this machine. I really do not need more than 120 GB but if bigger is faster with SSD's then why not.
If I set 2 ssd's up in raid for speed...how much quicker should I expect it to perform ? Would the difference between 1 and 2 drives show up in CrysalDiscMark ?

Thanks

Advertisements

Wolfeymole

Wolfeymole

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,929 posts
I'm sorry if I'm missing something here Woodrow but how do you propose to install two hard drives, SSD or not?

woodrow896

woodrow896

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts
Now I realize the dv6 may not or does not have 2 bays so I am screwed.....dang. I was under the impression that is had 2 bays from the salesman. Dang.

EDIT Ok I called and swapped it out for a DV7 so I am back in business again. Sorry for my stupidity. Part of the learning curve I guess. I am sure there are more mistakes to be made !

Thanks

Edited by woodrow896, 16 February 2013 - 06:48 AM.

Wolfeymole

Wolfeymole

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,929 posts
You're welcome. :thumbsup:

woodrow896

woodrow896

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts