Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Test boot (external build) problems.

• Please log in to reply

TheHitchHiker

TheHitchHiker

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi, so this is my first build and a lot of people on the internet recommended that first I should test my build (or at least part of it) outside of the case.

I did that, installed my video card, CPU and RAM memory onto my mobo, connected the power supply and then shorted the power pins on the mobo.
The system booted but gave me the error that it couldn't find a driver (which is normal because no hard drive was connected). When I tried this for the second time, I may have accidentely shorted the two wrong pins, and now I get no image on my monitor. While I used to be able to do that.

I have already checked all my (power)cables, tried it with just one RAM stick, trying both of them seperately, I checked my HDMI cable, and even pulled all of the parts out of the motherboard and re-insterted them, the only option I can think of now is that I fried something, maybe the video card or the CPU? Please help me, I put a lot of money and time is this machine and I really want it to work.

Thank already, and I hope you can help :)

Advertisements

fyrfyter33

fyrfyter33

• PipPipPip
  • 149 posts
you could have fried the MoBo or something within the PSU. Without a PSU tester, it is going to be difficult to figure out what went wrong. I think shorting pins is a really bad idea. Its much better to assemble the computer into a case and then if you have issues, troubleshoot from there.

TheHitchHiker