Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

No system sounds - Other sounds OK -Cannot preview sounds

• Please log in to reply

NewBernTech

NewBernTech

• PipPip
  • 13 posts
I have a sound problem that I can't seem to solve. I can play the system sounds directly in Windows media player but no system sounds play (startup, shutdown, critical stop, etc.) As a result, there are no sounds on things like YouTube and other online sounds. I am an experienced tech so solutions like turn on the Windows Audio Service or make sure the plug is in the right jack are not going to fix this problem. I've tried all of the registry fixes for audio at Kellys Korner, reinstalled drivers, changed audio cards and even a repair install of XP. Nothing has worked. There are no BIOS settings for sound so it isn't that. I have no speaker icon in the taskbar and the Preview button for system sounds is greyed out even when I select a specific sound. The default Audio Device for Voice would not stay after I selected it and said OK. Checking it again and it is blank (I think this is the root of the problem). There are no conflicts in device manager and nothing has an error condition there. Audio Codecs, Legacy audio drivers and media control devices are all listed twice in Device Manager. That is peculiar but may be related to the install of K-Lite Codec pack that was installed Z(as a fix) and then uninstalled. Card has been moved to a different slot and as I said, I tried a different, working, card.

Dell Dimension 8200
Windows XP SP3