Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PC Build Overview help.

• Please log in to reply

aareyn

aareyn

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
Firstly I am building a gaming PC and I would like the get a dedicated graphics card but I am unsure whether or not my motherboard would support it or not.

Motherboard
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131819

Or does it need to support it I am unsure lol I am really new at this, any help would be appreciated.

Edited by aareyn, 03 May 2013 - 06:03 AM.

Advertisements

Alzeimer

Alzeimer

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,331 posts
The motherboard you have in your link includes

1- 1 x Integrated video

2- 2 x PCI-E 3.0 slots(for adding a Video Card)

3- 1 x PCI-E 2.0 slot (for adding a Video Card)

So in your board as many options for graphic card, the easiest is the Integrated Video which you just plus your monitor to the back of your motherboard using the DVI connection (Integrated video is the least good choice depending on the use of your computer due to share memory and lower quality).

or you can put any add-on video card to one of your PCI-E (3x) slots

or you can use the SLI option and connect 2 video card together in 2 of the PCI-E 3.0 slots

So you have many options as you can see.

Hope that helps

Edited by Alzeimer, 03 May 2013 - 06:53 AM.

aareyn

aareyn

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
Okay now I understand thanks for the info it really helps :)

aareyn

aareyn

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts