Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

100% CPU usage = useless computer. Help?

• Please log in to reply

anilsen

anilsen

• Pip
  • 8 posts
Hi there,

This is my first time on this site, so I apologize if starting a new topic is not appropriate for my issue. Unfortunately my computer is running so slowly that I am on my iPod, which means I couldn't find the search bar to look at past topics.

Anyways, I am running Windows 7 on my HP dv6-1245dx computer that I purchased in 2009. It has recently become so slow that it is not practically useable. It is incredibly frustrating to do anything on it! I have found that the CPU usage is constantly at 100% (even at startup), while my Physical Memory stays are 33%. I've run MSCONFIG and disabled all programs at startup. This reduced my processes on start up from ~110 to ~70, but my CPU is still at 100% and super slow :(

I am not sure what other stats/info to provide that would help find a solution, and would gladly provide any info that could help. Thank you!!

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• 23,863 posts
:welcome: anilsen

Two possible causes are a HDD that is running low on free storage space which we can help you with on this forum, another possible cause is malware infection which we cannot help with here on this forum so we may need to redirect you to the malware forums if it appears that it may be the problem.