Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Upgrade Help/Advice: Dell Inspiron 1525

• Please log in to reply

Pulta-Pah

Pulta-Pah

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hey GtG!

I'm extremely new to the whole 'building and upgrading game' and was asking around for some sound advice. Basically, I have always wanted Alienware; it's difficult to say exactly why, but I just have. Upon coming to University a few friends have said: 'Why not just build your own for much cheaper?'I HAVE NO IDEA WHERE TO BEGIN!!!

My girlfriend had recently thrown out her old Dell Inspiron 1525 (factory set-up) and so I thought this may be a brilliant place to start my little 'Project-Rebuild 2013'. What I'm looking for is more down the 'gaming route' but as aforementioned, I have no idea where to begin. I know a 'bit' about processors, RAM and sound cards but I am no 'techie' to any extent; this is where I need you guys.

My overall aim is to get as close to an Alienware M14x as possible, I know this model is not the greatest but it is a decent gaming laptop for lower end gamers like myself (I primarily use my Playstation).

Getting to the point: Where should I begin? What should I look to improve/upgrade/buy? Any relevant help would be greatly appreciated and if replies could be kept as 'user-friendly' as possible it would be a bonus!

Be sleek, stay geek!

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,748 posts
:welcome: Pulta-Pah