Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Building my first computer - PSU and Mobo wiring

• Please log in to reply

Crystal1nfused

Crystal1nfused

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hello everyone!

I recently decided to build my own gaming computer. I have never built before, and it's a new experience for me. I spent the past couple of months reading up and educating myself on the terms and goings-on inside a computer. I ordered my parts and received them from Newegg today. People told me building a computer is fairly easy, but I'm finding it a lot more difficult than I anticipated. I have the Mobo, CPU, GPU, CPU Fan, HDD, and Optical Drive all mounted correctly in the case, however I seem to have hit a wall.

I bought a modular PSU, and I cannot for the life of me figure out what to plug into it, where those plugs go on the mobo, and my other components. I can't even figure out where to plug in the front-panel (I've only succeeded to plug in my CPU fan and the largest mobo wire because it was a no-brainer)

Is there any advice any can give me? The manuals are extremely difficult to understand and I'm starting to get really frustrated. Am I overthinking all of this? Am I making it harder than it has to be?

My motherboard is a P8Z77-V PRO

Posted Image

and my PSU is a SeaSonic X650

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 6,764 posts
Gday Crystal1nfusedPosted Image