Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Weird problems - I have lost all hope

• Please log in to reply

thgingerbreadboy

thgingerbreadboy

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hello, this is my first time on the forum and I hope someone can help:

My pc's issues:

Properties will not show for anything (desktop, folders, my computer)
It will not find any usb-connected devices (external hard drives, usb sticks, phones, tablets, etc.)
It will not play sound, and says there is something wrong with my sound card configuration, and when I look for my sound card, it says it doesn't exist.
It will not run regedit (says it doesn't exist)

Also, in my explorer, it now shows a window without text with a heading saying Microsoft .NET Framework. The box contains two red crosses: one left, and one right. The one on the left, when clicked, gives an extended menu with details about just-in-time (JIT) debugging. - this seems to be solved by closing the extra address bar I had installed

In general, the biggest problem is probably me having been deleting important files in the cleaning of my computer (and I hadn't made a backup) <-- I definitely regret this.

Also, I have deleted most of windows programs (like MS Word and MS Powerpoint) I think this would also be solved if I just re-installed windows, so I believe the easiest option is to completely reset my computer and wipe everything from my hard disk(s), but I don't know how to do that.

My pc specs:

Operating system: Microsoft Windows XP Professional SP3(5. 1, Build 2600)
Processor: Intel® Pentium® 4 CPU 2.40GHz