Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Installing Windows for the first time

• Please log in to reply

BonbonRose

BonbonRose

• PipPip
  • 73 posts
Hi,

I'm trying to replace my corrupt XP OS with a new windows 7 version and it's my first time ever trying to setup an OS.

First of all, I tried but got this error screen
Posted Image
Besides, I'm already confused with many terms concerning this subject like setup, clean setup, install and format. Which wipes the entire data I have, and which deletes just the partition where the OS is installed in - which is the one I want? So I cannot benefit from any tutorial unless I know the difference.

PS: there's nothing plugged into the computer except the basic stuff and the CD is new and looks good with no scratches.

Edited by BonbonRose, 29 June 2013 - 03:43 AM.

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,748 posts
Hello BonbonRose

Couple of questions if I may;
What type of Windows 7 disk do you have as in a full retail type or an OEM type, if you can please provide a link to where the disk was obtained or to an image of the same version of disk that you have.

Do you wish to fully format the HDD and do a clean installation (this is often the best option).

Have you been having problems with the HDD at all.

BonbonRose

BonbonRose

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts
Hello,

It's a retail disk. As for the disk version, do you mean the version in the attached file?