Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Ready to pull my hair out

• Please log in to reply

Adrenalin777

Adrenalin777

• PipPip
  • 20 posts
RIGHT!!

Firstly, welcome back Adrenalin. Thanks... haha. Hello kids, long time no smell.

Anyway, I have come to the clever people of the best support site in the known universe. GTG. Used to be a regular but life took a turn. Now I am back.

So I am building a system, here are the specs so far.......

Core i3 540 CPU
Intel DH57DD Motherboard

More than that you don't need to know right now. RIGHT, here is my major issue.

The board is no longer under warranty according to Intel, before you ask why i don't just RMA it.

Basically, I have no POST, no BIOS, nadda. Tried 2 power supplies, 3 different types of memory (Not all at once) and the fan spins, then goes off. Repeatedly...
Tried pulling all memory out, nothing. Tried different slots, nothing. Same issue. The CPU I got in the box brand new, so I presume it is not that, as a quick google search revealed similar issues with the board however not as serious as mine are. a BIOS update seems to have fixed another chaps, however to get it into a BIOS update stage, the PC has to switch on for longer than 1 second. Surely?

So, what are my options here.... has anyone else had this issue? Any help would be appreciated.

Regards,
Ad

Advertisements

heartgrave

heartgrave

• PipPipPip
  • 488 posts