Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Are my computer parts compatible?

• Please log in to reply

Jake85r

Jake85r

• PipPip
  • 32 posts
I have been wanting to build my own computer for some time now, but before I can order the parts I need to see if they are compatible with each other. I have never built a computer before so please excuse me if i don't know what parts go with which. I have watched several videos of people building computers. So here we go!

Motherboard: MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming LGA 1150 Intel Z87 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Extreme OC High Performance Triple CFX/ SLI Intel Motherboard

Graphics Card: EVGA 02G-P4-2761-KR GeForce GTX 760 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 SLI Support Video Card

CPU: Intel® Core™ i5-4670K Processor

RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8 GB ( 2 x 4 GB ) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) 240-Pin DDR3 Memory Kit for Core i3, i5, i7 and Platforms SDRAM CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9

Power Supply: HX Series HX850 Power Supply — 850 Watt 80 PLUS® Gold Certified Modular PSU

Case: NZXT Technologies Source 210 Computer Case (Black)

Hard Drive: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 GB SATA III 7200 RPM 16 MB Cache Bulk/OEM Desktop Hard Drive - WD5000AAKX

Software: Windows 7 Home Premium (I have tried Windows 8 and I really don't like it. I know that they are coming out with windows 8.1 soon but I would much rather have Windows 7!)

I also want to add a optical drive, so let me know if that is possible as well!