Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

PC keeps cutting out and rebooting randomly

• Please log in to reply

lowra muser

lowra muser

• PipPipPip
  • 111 posts
Hi,

My PC keeps folding and rebooting under it's own volition. Basically, I have an old PC that has been given to me. If I can get it running properly again that would be great.

PC Spec is as follows:
PC: ASUS Desktop (HDMI enabled - excuse my terminology - I'm not an expert)
Motherboard Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
Model: GA-73PVM-S2H
Total Installed Memory: 4 GB
Modules Installed: Slot "Bank0/1" has 2 GB installed Slot "Bank2/3" has 2 GB installed
Windows XP

Problems
I recently purchased 4gb of new ram for my PC (an upgrade from the previous 2gb) as I had run Memtest, Win Mem Diagnostics & Memtest 86+ which brought back results saying my RAM was faulty. ANYHOW... I installed the new RAM yesterday.n. AND... The problems I had pre-'New Ram' are still prevalent. These being: -

1. PC shuts down under own volition and reboots, sometimes with a disk scan sometimes without. ALWAYS with 'Your system has recovered from a serious error. Do you wish to send a report?' message.
2. Blue screens, once every week or 2 weeks (I have had PC for 2 months)
3. Google chrome crashes lots.

Latest
I have ran Memtest 86 today and it says my brand new RAM is faulty (which I doubt).

Where I'm at...
I wonder, does anybody know where I should go from here in trying to rectify the problem of my PC shutting down?

Many Thanks in advance for any help people may be able to give :)