Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

BSOD Windows XP


  • Please log in to reply

#91
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Instead of running chkdsk /f run chkdsk /r
  • 0

Advertisements


#92
cmislin

cmislin

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
I've might of used /f and /r both in the past. The F fixes errors the R recovers data or attempts. Ok I take it either will need to be done at startup. I will check back with ya after its done.

Edited by cmislin, 17 October 2013 - 12:43 PM.

  • 0

#93
cmislin

cmislin

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
I forgot the straight chkdsk /r is typically super quick. It was done pretty quick said disk was clean. Ya normally I go threw and select the hard drive and both options under Error-checking. But ya disk clean.
  • 0

#94
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Actually chkdsk /r usually takes longer to do because it is 5 stages where the /f is only 3 stages that it checks.
  • 0

#95
cmislin

cmislin

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
Well those 3 stages must of been super quick because it was about 30 seconds if that.
  • 0

#96
cmislin

cmislin

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
Another BSOD and didn't have chrome open but firefox with like 4 tabs and League of legends (1st time its happened when firefox and LOL were open) Also bluescreen viewer didn't get the mini dump nor did windows noticed it but whocrash got it.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  log.txt   583bytes   29 downloads

  • 0

#97
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Sorry it has been so long on my response. Was in the hospital for the last 4 days. Have you checked into a bios upgrade for your motherboard?
  • 0

#98
cmislin

cmislin

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
Its ok and no I haven't. I'm not sure how that actually works I can tell ya my MB info is MSI g41m-e43 / g41m-p33 model number ms-7592
  • 0

#99
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Looks like there is a update available HERE but make sure you understand how to do this before attempting.
  • 0

#100
cmislin

cmislin

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
whats the typical way to install these? Because I'm really not sure the best way. I know I never been able to get a usb device to read during bootup to make it easier. Also I hope your doing better.

Edited by cmislin, 21 October 2013 - 07:08 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#101
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The last time I updated a bios was when floppy disks were still being used. I suspect you can do it making a bootable cd and boot to it. Some newer boards will actually allow you to do a in place update from within windows. According to MSI's site HERE your mother has the live update option.
  • 0

#102
cmislin

cmislin

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
So that means what? Like DL install and follow prompts or what? Or is it all done in bios? Also I don't have live update installed. Can I get it off that site as well?
t

Edited by cmislin, 21 October 2013 - 09:12 PM.

  • 0

#103
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Scroll down the list till you see the below. This is the Live update program.



  • 0

#104
cmislin

cmislin

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 384 posts
I take it I can run that and it will install the bios update or get it ready to install and then reboot and ok?
  • 0

#105
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It should install the new bios software but I want to warn you if it has the option to backup the existing bios then please back it up. If something goes wrong you will need that to get your system back up and running.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP