Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows 7 cannot load


  • Please log in to reply

#46
pomognetemi

pomognetemi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hi Phill.

I am not ready yet to do the splitting of the hard disk. I need to read a bit more about it. Even using a program to guide me through the partition, I will probably have to choose
from options, or enter concrete information (like the size for the OS partition, the drive letter, the name of the partition etc) and so far I am not sure exactly what to do.

Meanwhile, because now we are dealing with the different drivers, I wanted to mention another problem - with my Microsoft LifeCam. This same thing has been happening very,
very often before the clean installation of the OS and it happened again two days ago.

I was trying to restart the computer and couldn't. Startup Repair was checking for problems - could nor repair and gave me this information:
Problem Event Name Startup Repair offline
Problem signature 01 - 6.1.7600.16385
Problem signature 02 - 6.1.7600.16385
Problem signature 03 - unknown
Problem signature 04 - 47
Problem signature 05 - Autofailover
Problem signature 06 - 1
Problem signature 07 - No Root cause
Locale ID - 1033

I sent information about the problem and got this reply:
If you have recently attached a device to this computer, such as camera or portable music player, remove it and restart your computer.

I unplugged the camera and Windows loaded.

What I found yesterday by chance on a Microsoft site is this(I don't know if it is relevant)

http://www.microsoft...us/default.mspx

Microsoft LifeCam Readme and Troubleshooting Information

Windows 7 requires that .NET be enabled for LifeCam software to run

In order to use the LifeCam software, you must first enable.NET in the Windows 7 Control Panel.
During LifeCam software setup, if .NET is not enabled, it will automatically be enabled without
notification. After setup, if .NET is turned off, the LifeCam software will stop working.

My camera does not stop working - the computer does.

Edited by pomognetemi, 30 October 2013 - 12:47 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#47
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,907 posts
Hello pomognetemi

The LifeCam software is not something that I am familiar with and so I am not able to comment on it I`m afraid, the re-partitioning of the HDD I fully understand your uncertainty and I think that you are wise holding off until you are comfortable with taking on the task.

You could always add an SSD to your computer and do a fresh install of Windows 7 to that :whistling:
  • 0

#48
pomognetemi

pomognetemi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hi Phill,

Before I re-partition the HD, do I need to update other of my drivers?
Like mouse, keyboard or other drivers?
Or do I have to update the BIOS?

For example, I do not have sound now, is it normal? Temporary profile has nothing to do with this, hasn't it?

Edited by pomognetemi, 30 October 2013 - 02:52 PM.

  • 0

#49
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,907 posts
Hello pomognetemi

I would not install any other drivers at present and the BIOS should be left well alone.

Have you checked that the sound has not been muted - volume levels.

Please see the startup repair informationHere
  • 0

#50
pomognetemi

pomognetemi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hi Phill,

I don't know why I see the replies with such a delay. The information is that you posted your reply 30 minutes ago, but it wasn't showing.
I am not sure how the exchange of information on the forum works. Say, do I have to refresh somehow or not? How do I refresh here?
I sometimes sign out and then sign in in order to see a reply.

Today I will be reading through the Gparted help information and will see what I'll be able to do next.

Thanks for your help today.
  • 0

#51
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,907 posts
Hi pomognetemi

Not sure about the reply times as they are normally instant :confused:

You are welcome and please take your time :thumbsup:
  • 0

#52
pomognetemi

pomognetemi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hello Phill,

I tried, but for whatever reason I couldn't burn a GParted Live CD, so I gave it up.
Then I decided to give Windows' Disk Management a go and (most likely with divine
intervention as well) finally created a partition. It is 60GB, unformatted.

Here I attach the new drive configuration picture. It's beautiful!

I am ready for the next step.

Attached Thumbnails

  • new disk configuration.jpg

Edited by pomognetemi, 31 October 2013 - 11:01 AM.

  • 0

#53
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,907 posts
Hello pomognetemi

The partition needs to be changed to NTFS, please see Here

Well done for sticking with it BTW :thumbsup:
  • 1

#54
pomognetemi

pomognetemi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hello phillpower,

Thank you. I did format it as NTFS now.

Edited by pomognetemi, 02 November 2013 - 03:10 AM.

  • 0

#55
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,907 posts
Hello pomognetemi

You can install Windows 7 to the newly created partition now but can you first make sure that you have your 25 digit product code available, if yes please see Here

Once you have confirmed that Windows has been cleanly installed and the computer will boot up to it successfully once the computer has been restarted you can change the drive/partition letters so that the present C: becomes D: and the newly created I: becomes C:, to help with this please seeHere

Once the above is done and confirmed as being 100% successful you can remove the previous version of Windows to reclaim the space on the HDD.
  • 1

Advertisements


#56
pomognetemi

pomognetemi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hello phillpower,

Thank you so much for your support.
I went through the instruction and am not sure if I have to install the 32-bit, or the 64-bit OS.
The instruction shows installing x86. Currently, I have the 64 bit installed.
The search for advice on the internet gives me opposing opinions.

What is your opinion, please?
  • 0

#57
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,907 posts
Hi pomognetemi

Please install Windows 7 64-bit as you are correct in that it is what you presently have installed (including SP1).

As ever you are most welcome :thumbsup:
  • 0

#58
pomognetemi

pomognetemi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
Hello phillpower,

I re-installed Windows, but haven't changed any partitions'/drives' names yet.

I just wanted to show you the disk chart, before I do any partition letters' changes(if needed).

I wanted to tell you as well, that after the re-installation, when the computer starts it goes first to the Windows
Boot Manager and asks me to choose an Operating system to start. Two OS are listed, like that

Windows 7 - this one is highlighted
Windows 7

Does this mean that I have to remove the old OS (formatting the other partitions)?

Thank you so much.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Windows installed.png

Edited by pomognetemi, 02 November 2013 - 05:51 PM.

  • 0

#59
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,907 posts
Hello pomognetemi

Great job :thumbsup:

No need to change the partition letters as Windows has successfully done this for you :)

Just remember that C: is the boot partition and you must now ensure that any data that you store is saved to the D: partition.

As I said earlier ensure that the computer is booting and operating with the new OS.

I will be going offline shortly as it is almost midnight here in the UK and I have work early in the morning :(
  • 0

#60
pomognetemi

pomognetemi

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
A good teacher - a good student!


I will probably have some more questions later on,
but the main work is done thanks to you..


A little something for a devoted teacher:



Thanks and good night.

Edited by pomognetemi, 03 November 2013 - 01:49 AM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP