Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Fans turn off and on when I try to power on

• Please log in to reply

Nodrokov

Nodrokov

• Pip
  • 4 posts
I just built a computer using an MSI z87-g45 motherboard, which we got for a cheap price because someone returned it, an intel 15-4670k processor, an asus geforce gtx 650 GPU, a corsair ax860 power supply, 8 gigabytes of corsair xms3 RAM, 500 gigabyte mainstream classique WD hard drive, 2 80 mm cfs-80-sb polar typhoon series case fans, and an acer 21.5 inch monitor. It is worth mentioning that this is my first time building a computer.

I powered it up and everything worked, but instead of seeing BIOS, I saw a menu with my motherboard's logo on it. I looked at some of the settings, but as I couldn't understand what most of them meant, I immediately installed windows 8.1, not wanting to screw anything up. Windows installed normally and I was able to see my desktop. I had to go somewhere else for an hour, so I turned off my computer and came back to it in an hour. Then, when I tried to turn it on, all the fans would turn on, but my monitor said "no signal." I tried replacing the CMOS battery, but it still didn't work. I took out the RAM, and blew gently on it and it turned on.