Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

PC randomly shuts down and gives blue screen


  • Please log in to reply

#1
TheRuun

TheRuun

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
PC randomly shuts down and gives blue screen.
After time the PC got slower and slower.


Just installed windows 7 again and PC is fast again.
Unfortunately PC still gives blue screen now and then.

Motherboard: Acer mcp73pv
Processor: Intel® Core™2 Quad CPU Q8200 @ 2.33GHz
GPU: GeForce 9500 GS
4gb ram


What I've done so far:

memtest
furmark
hdtune

What to do next???

Attached Thumbnails

  • foto.JPG
  • Untitled.png
  • Untitled1.png

Edited by TheRuun, 19 November 2013 - 07:01 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Hello TheRuun.... Welcome to
GeeksToGo, :thumbsup:
:ph34r: :yes:

I'm sorry to hear about your issue. We will try to help you resolve this as soon as possible.
  • Please understand we are all volunteers and we are not here all the time.
  • Sometimes it may be a extended amount of time to get back to you. If it has been
    more then 3 days please shoot me a PM and I will try to get back to you quickly
    then.
  • Please do the following and supply the requested information as needed. If you
    don't understand my instructions please ask and I will try to explain them
    clearer for you.
  • Do not attempt any steps unless instructed or ask before to
    make sure they will not cause any further issues.
  • If you are receiving assistance in any other forum site please let us know as there may be conflicting advice given.





Can you verify what the stop code is please. It looks to be the first set of numbers ends with 3E.
  • 0

#3
TheRuun

TheRuun

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
0x0000001E (0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000, 0x00000000000000000000)
  • 0

#4
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts

0x0000001E: KMODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED
The Windows kernel detected an illegal or unknown processor instruction. A Stop 0x1E condition can be caused by invalid memory and access violations similar to those that generate Stop 0xA errors. This default Windows error handler typically intercepts these problems if error-handling routines are not present in the code itself.


The 0XA it references:

0x0000000A: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
Typically due to a bad driver, or faulty or incompatible hardware or software. Technically, this error condition means that a kernel-mode process or driver tried to access a memory location to which it did not have permission, or at a kernel Interrupt ReQuest Level (IRQL) that was too high. (A kernel-mode process can access only other processes that have an IRQL lower than, or equal to, its own.)



First step I would like to take is to make sure the memory is ok


A If you have more than one RAM module installed, try starting computer with one RAM stick at a time.

NOTE Keep in mind, the manual check listed above is always superior to the software check, listed below. DO NOT proceed with memtest, if you can go with option A

B. If you have only one RAM stick installed...
...run memtest...


1. Download - Pre-Compiled Bootable ISO (.zip). If you prefer to use the USB version then use this link USB KEY
2. Unzip downloaded /memtest86+-4.20.iso.zip file.
3. Inside, you'll find /memtest86+-4.20.iso file.
4. Download, and install ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/
5. Insert blank CD into your CD drive.
6. Open ImgBurn, and click on Write image file to disc
7. Click on Browse for a file... icon:

Posted Image

8. Locate memtest86+-4.20.iso file, and click Open button.
9. Click on ImgBurn green arrow to start burning bootable memtest86 CD:

Posted Image

10. Once the CD is created, boot from it, and memtest will automatically start to run. You may have to change the boot sequence in your BIOS to make it work right.

To change Boot Sequence in your BIOS

Reboot the system and at the first post screen (where it is counting up memory) start tapping the DEL button
This will enter you into the Bios\Cmos area.
Find the Advanced area and click Enter
Look for Boot Sequence or Boot Options and highlight that click Enter
Now highlight the first drive and follow the directions on the bottom of the screen on how to modify it and change it to CDrom.
Change the second drive to the C or Main Drive
Once that is done then click F10 to Save and Exit
You will prompted to enter Y to verify Save and Exit. Click Y and the system will now reboot with the new settings.


The running program will look something like this depending on the size and number of ram modules installed:


Posted Image

It's recommended to run 5-6 passes. Each pass contains very same 8 tests.

This will show the progress of the test. It can take a while. Be patient, or leave it running overnight.

Posted Image

The following image is the test results area:

Posted Image

The most important item here is the “errors” line. If you see ANY errors, even one, most likely, you have bad RAM.
  • 0

#5
TheRuun

TheRuun

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Removed 1 from total of 2 sticks and PC now running on 1 stick.

I will use the PC frequently and am waiting if the blue screen turns up.
  • 0

#6
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK thanks for the update. :thumbsup:
  • 0

#7
TheRuun

TheRuun

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
PC still works on 1 stick. Should I try the other one to check if that one is the problem?
  • 0

#8
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Yes please but is the system shutting down like before with the one stick in it now?
  • 0

#9
TheRuun

TheRuun

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
No PC works fine with one stick. I'll try it with the other one soon.
  • 0

#10
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK great :thumbsup:
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
TheRuun

TheRuun

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
I am now running the PC on the other stick. No problems so far..
  • 0

#12
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
OK then install both memory modules and then do the following.

Run hard drive diagnostics: http://www.tacktech....ay.cfm?ttid=287
Make sure, you select tool, which is appropriate for the brand of your hard drive.
Depending on the program, it'll create bootable floppy, or bootable CD.
If downloaded file is of .iso type, use ImgBurn: http://www.imgburn.com/ to burn .iso file to a CD (chose "Write image file to disc" option), and make the CD bootable.

NOTE. If your hard drive is made by Toshiba, try the Hitachi DFT CD Image version of the software

Thanks to Broni for the instructions
  • 0

#13
TheRuun

TheRuun

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Posted Image

Did the scan with the 2 sticks in the PC(printscreen). What now?

Edited by TheRuun, 27 November 2013 - 10:17 AM.

  • 0

#14
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
It doesn't give a detail on what exactly failed?
  • 0

#15
TheRuun

TheRuun

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Log file:

--------------- SeaTools for Windows v1.2.0.8 ---------------
22-11-2013 15:55:12
Model: ST3640623AS
Serial Number: --------
Firmware Revision: SD43
Fix All Long Aborted 22-11-2013 15:55:12
Fix All Long - FAIL 27-11-2013 15:34:24
Sense Key: 0x05 Sense Code: 0x20 Sense Qual: 0x00 FRU: 0x00
SeaTools Test Code: 6C9AC2A4

and printscreen.

Posted Image
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP