Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Possible Malware, laptop slow, command prompt window opened by itself


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#31
mango_nj

mango_nj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
I ran Microsoft Fix it 50362

....problem still there :angry:


What a nightmare!!!

I so appreciate your tenacity....

I'll keep trying, pls advise.
  • 0

Advertisements


#32
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK I will need to do some checking so I will hopefully have something for you tomorrow :)
  • 0

#33
mango_nj

mango_nj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
OK...I'll be checking for ya :thumbsup:

....thank you

Edited by mango_nj, 21 December 2013 - 08:43 AM.

  • 0

#34
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK this one is one of those where all the MS responses are very vague and they keep saying repair install ... A good catchall answer

Download and run farbar service scanner

Posted Image

Tick "All" options.
Press "Scan".
It will create a log (FSS.txt) in the same directory the tool is run.

Please copy and paste the log to your reply.
  • 0

#35
mango_nj

mango_nj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
Here you go....



FSS

Farbar Service Scanner Version: 05-12-2013
Ran by Owner (administrator) on 21-12-2013 at 07:43:20
Running from "C:\Users\Owner\Desktop"
Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Basic Service Pack 2 (X86)
Boot Mode: Normal
****************************************************************

Internet Services:
============

Connection Status:
==============
Localhost is accessible.
LAN connected.
Google IP is accessible.
Google.com is accessible.
Yahoo.com is accessible.


Windows Firewall:
=============

Firewall Disabled Policy:
==================


System Restore:
============

System Restore Disabled Policy:
========================


Security Center:
============


Windows Update:
============

Windows Autoupdate Disabled Policy:
============================


Windows Defender:
==============

Other Services:
==============


File Check:
========
C:\Windows\system32\nsisvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\nsiproxy.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\dhcpcsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\afd.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\tdx.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\tcpip.sys
[2013-02-13 11:19] - [2013-01-04 03:28] - 0914792 ____A (Microsoft Corporation) 3535CD93F944C00F098E73E12EE7FEB6

C:\Windows\system32\dnsrslvr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\mpssvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\bfe.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\Drivers\mpsdrv.sys => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\SDRSVC.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\vssvc.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\wscsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\wbem\WMIsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\wuaueng.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\qmgr.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\es.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\cryptsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MpSvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\ipnathlp.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\iphlpsvc.dll => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\svchost.exe => MD5 is legit
C:\Windows\system32\rpcss.dll => MD5 is legit


**** End of log ****
  • 0

#36
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK all services and reg entries are good, we have aggressively reset updates and then reinstalled the components.

Are you getting windows updates even with that error showing ?
Is the update section set to download updates automatically ?
  • 0

#37
mango_nj

mango_nj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
Are you getting windows updates even with that error showing ?

Have no idea what updates I should be getting because....
WU icon continuously sits in my system tray saying
can't check for updates. It never goes away. Loads again after I turn my laptop on.
Every single time I shut down, pc says 'configuring updates' like it's installing something.
Acts stuck in a loop. The only thing I see installing is windows defender over and over.


Is the update section set to download updates automatically ?

YES--I set updates to install automatically, yet the status says....
Install updates: NEVER
Most recent check for updates: NEVER
[Pls See attached}

I check for updates daily to see if it's working every time we try something
and have installed hotfix update per this thread.
Yet it never updates status.

--------------------------------------------
I'm willing to try anything else you suggest, but I think you've
done your best Essex and I am so grateful, can't say it enough.
Thanks to you the adware I had is gone.

Attached Thumbnails

  • neverInstall.jpg
  • WUautoInstall.jpg

  • 0

#38
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Could you totally disable windows defender .. Steps are here http://www.howtogeek...ow-turn-it-off/
  • 0

#39
mango_nj

mango_nj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
Hi Essex,

Thanks for the info...

I disabled it.

Edited by mango_nj, 21 December 2013 - 03:13 PM.

  • 0

#40
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK could you reboot and confirm that an update no longer tries to install as this may be the root cause of the problem with updates
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
mango_nj

mango_nj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
Restarted....
WU still trying to install, even after defender was disabled.
During shut down pc says 'configuring updates'

WU icon is back in system tray saying 'can't check for updates'
  • 0

#42
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Could you restart the computer in safe mode then reboot back to normal mode .. Does that cure it ?

If not then run the Vista recovery console and select start up repair
  • 0

#43
mango_nj

mango_nj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
Hi Essex! will do and get back to you :happy:
  • 0

#44
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Ta :)
  • 0

#45
mango_nj

mango_nj

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 206 posts
Ran recovery repair and it said----detected no problems

I'll just have to live with this issue.
Really don't want to restore windows just to fix WU

I've been coming to this site over many years and you
are the best techie I've ever had assist me. It shows
how much you love this stuff and you've gone out of
your way to give me the greatest help. Truly appreciate
your expertise. My pc is running so much better. If you
think of anything else b4 you close this thread. Just
let me know and I'll give it a go.

I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas Essex! :wave:

....You're the BEST....

Edited by mango_nj, 22 December 2013 - 11:48 AM.

  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP