Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

New computer constantly sounds like its loading something

• Please log in to reply

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi. I know other people have talked about this on here, but the entries seem a little dated so I want to ask again for any current information. I'm not an expert with computers, and I have just bought a new desktop from Newegg.com. I bought a Windows 7 Asus computer. The specs are good: Intel i7, 16 GB Ram, 2Tb hard drive. The only thing I have put on it so far is Norton Internet Security, and a Seagate external hard drive set up to automatically back up.

It just started to make sounds like its loading all the time the past couple days. It has been having a lot of updates when it shuts down. I don't know if that has anything to do with it so I thought I would mention that. I feel bummed that I payed so much for a good computer but it keeps having loading sounds.

Yesterday it seemed to be stuck when I tried to update Adobe Reader. It went very slow. As it was doing that, I tried to open Norton Internet Security and Norton would not open. After a while, things came to life again. I wouldn't think much about it but this computer is new so I worry I spent all my money and my computer might have problems already? Is it normal to have a loading sound a lot when I'm not doing anything on the computer? I had Norton Internet Security before on another computer recently and I didn't have any problems like this.