Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Build compatibility

• Please log in to reply

midgetman303

midgetman303

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Building my first computer and I've picked the following parts based on my budget and recommendations from web articles and friends.. Just trying to get some feedback on how feasible these parts are and unsure they are compatible. Don't be too harsh if something seems like a terrible idea, like I said I'm really new to this

I would also be interested to hear how many fans/ anything else I would need to keep it cool and avoid overheating

CPU:AMD FX-6300 3.5GHz 6-Core Processor
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3P ATX AM3+ Motherboard
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
GPU: PNY GeForce GTX 660 2GB Video Card
Case: NZXT Tempest 410 ATX Mid Tower Case
Power supply:Thermaltake TR2 430W ATX Power Supply
Optical drive: Sony 5280S-CB-PLUS DVD/CD Writer

Edited by midgetman303, 06 February 2014 - 10:17 PM.

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,716 posts
:welcome: midgetman303

Trust me we are here to help and not criticize in any way :thumbsup:

With the exception of an underpowered PSU the list of parts is ok in theory, I say in theory as we do not know what the main use of the computer will be, the build would be ok for moderate gaming for example but not for some of the more demanding games on high or ultra settings.