Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

new laptop with the gadget of about 1100 dollars

• Please log in to reply

elis02

elis02

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Hi,

I am an MSC student in physics and I need to get myself a good, trusted laptop for the years to come.\
Here are some of the things I think I need:

1. screen - as most laptops should be 15.6 inch. (I don't like to work on small screens)
also, should be Matte screen.

2. Special requirements:
a) At the moment I have lenovo T60, and I have the red track-point in it and the touchpad. If both can be that can be great but not go- no go kind of thing. (just a useful accessory)
b) The laptop should have a Camera buit in.
c) WIFI - I heard there is a new wifi standard, so if it has it, awesome. If not, so just the normal(b/g/n). (like before - that's not the go- no go kind of thing)
d) Blutooth.
3. weight - doesn't matter as long as you remember it is a laptop none the less.
4. Battery life - should work at least for 3 hours while being under constant calculations with the brightest light.
5. special exits - VGA, HDMI (and ofcourse all the usb, audio and network)
6. Hard drive - should be at least 500GB, should work fast. If possible, I heard about the SSD hard. Don't know if it's for the system Only or not. Very important that the laptop won't get stuck.
7. there is no need for an optical drive.
8. The budget should include 3 years of warranty
9. The operation system doesn't have to be inside the budget. (I can buy my own)