Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Black screen with blinking cursor


  • Please log in to reply

#16
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
I follow what you just said. I did extract all to desktop just as you said. I will try it all again. So , i am looking for ................ when i click on the icon in rufus?

thanks,
'
Robert
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
Here is the desktp things. The icons are on the desktop and they are on the list when I open desktop


Thanks,

Robert
  • 0

#18
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
Here is the desktp things. The icons are on the desktop and they are on the list when I open desktop


Thanks,

Robert

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1391991201994.jpg
  • 1391991439930.jpg

  • 0

#19
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
I saved the file to a new folder and now when i am trying to pout it on the usb, it says all data on drive will be destroyed. the Farber is on there, should I do thast and then redo the Farber?

Thanks,

Robert
  • 0

#20
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts
Yes do that and see how you go.

I didn't see the iso of OTLPE in that screen shot so I have been looking for alternatives for you but let's see how that works...
  • 0

#21
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
It says Real go and it is copying files
  • 0

#22
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
It says Reatogo and it is copying files
  • 0

#23
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts
Is that after copying FRST to the USB and rebooting or is it just doing that by itself?
  • 0

#24
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
I already had the Farber on the drive when I was trying to fix the problem before. It is still copying.


Thanks,

Robert
  • 0

#25
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
the file download says done. do I load the Farber on it now?

Thanks,

Robert

Edited by Robertcharles123, 09 February 2014 - 07:11 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#26
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts
Hmm... well let's see what happens.

I am not sure it is working the way it should.

It may be that we need to download another version of OTLPE from the link below.

http://oldtimer.geek...o.com/OTLPE.iso

and saving that one to your desktop.

After that using Rufus, as before, to burn the iso file to the usb stick.

Then save FRST to the USB and proceed with the instructions in my earlier post to run FRST.
  • 0

#27
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts
Oh I see we cross posted.

Yes save FRST to it and follow the instructions to reboot and see how it goes.
  • 0

#28
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
just a quick question. Is the file I just downloaded for a 64 bit system because the link to the Farber is for the 32 bit system-- I think? I have a windows 7 system. I tried to look Reatogo up and it seems to say it is for XP.

Thanks,

Robert

Edited by Robertcharles123, 09 February 2014 - 07:29 PM.

  • 0

#29
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts
Oh that could be so, it's a while since I used that instruction.

Go to the link below and choose the 64-bit one

Farbar Recovery Scan Tool
  • 0

#30
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
ok, both files are on the usb. Now i will try to go to the sick computer. I am not IT savy, so this may take a while.

Thanks,

Robert
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP