Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Switching from windows xp os to linux mint with cinnamon failure. Will

• Please log in to reply

SandyStone

SandyStone

• PipPip
  • 69 posts
I was switching over from XP to Linux Mint with cinnamon. I repartitioned the hd, removing all of the previous partitions. I think it may have failed because the last partition did not envelop (not a proper description, I know)the first two. But I will end my speculation here, I am not a novice. When restarted it says -0 active partitions -no boot device available. My comp is a desktop Dell Dimension 9150. 4gb RAM, dual core Pentium D 3ghz.

Thank you, this is a fine mess I put myself into. Your help is much much appreciated.

Advertisements

SleepyDude

SleepyDude

Trusted Helper

• Malware Removal
  • 4,975 posts
Hi,

Two questions for you:

- How did you removed the partitions?

- Do you want to install Linux Mint and completely delete Windows XP?

SandyStone

SandyStone

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
Good day.:D

I want to remove XP.I attempted to install Mint from a USB ISO. So it was Gparted that I used that was on the stick.

SleepyDude

SleepyDude

Trusted Helper

• Malware Removal
  • 4,975 posts
Hi,

According to the documentation here if you boot from the Live DVD and start the install process at some stage (page 14) it will ask "Erase disk and install Linux Mint" selecting this option should remove everything from the disk and created the needed partitions to install the OS.

SandyStone

SandyStone

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts