Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Upgrade just the GPU?

gpu upgrade

• Please log in to reply

OnlineCape

OnlineCape

• Pip
  • 7 posts

So I have an old computer lying in the basement, and I want to upgrade it to a decent low/mid end gaming PC. I have a few ideas on what I can do to make it better, but I'm no component expert, so I thought I would ask over here. The current specs over on the machine is -

Intel 2.9 GHz LGA 1155 G2020 Processor
Gigabyte ga h61m ds2 Mobo
500W non branded PSU 
4Gb RAM
No graphics card
2x 1TB HDD's
Windows 8.1

Now, I want to ask whether I should just upgrade the GPU and PSU for right now, to an 770/280x along with the ram, and upgrading the CPU/Mobo combo after a few months, as I am on a pretty tight budget. Or should I just upgrade all the components, with scaling down the GPU to a 265x/750Ti?

Thanks!

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,748 posts

:welcome:   OnlineCape

Having looked at the present MB specs I noticed that the maximum speed of  Ram that it will accept is 1333MHz, with this in mind upgrading the PSU and adding a video card would be ok for now but I would not upgrade the Ram to 8GB until the MB and CPU are upgraded this will also allow you to upgrade to a minimum of 1600MHz Ram and so avoid bottlenecking the potentially faster new CPU and GPU.

Can I ask what type of Windows 8.1 disk you have as in OEM, downloaded ISO or a full retail disk and is it the 32 or 64-bit version.

OnlineCape

OnlineCape

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 7 posts