Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Spyware - Malware Problem (cannot remove window) [RESOLVED]

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

starscream997

starscream997

• PipPip
  • 14 posts
Hi I'm a newbie here, this below is my problem, anyone care to help?

I tried everything...Norton/Housecall/Spybot/Ad-Aware/Hijckthis

This happens on My HP Laptop with 256Ram & Windows 2000, i know it's only and ad but i hate it ;)

any tips appreciated :tazz:

http://img.photobuck.../Sen997/s12.bmp

Edited by starscream997, 10 June 2005 - 10:44 AM.

Advertisements

greyknight17

greyknight17

Malware Expert

• Visiting Consultant
  • 16,560 posts
Welcome to GTG.

OK, it's the Messenger Service. Is this a company computer or do you know if the administrators need to send any messages/alerts to this computer? I'm asking because what I'm about to ask you to do will disable all that.

Go to Start->Run and type in services.msc and hit OK. Now scroll down to Messenger Service and double click on it. Click Stop button and then under Startup type, choose Disabled.

That should fix it up. Did you have someone check your HijackThis log already? If not, you may post it in this topic also and I will take a look at it for you.

starscream997

starscream997

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
thanks for the reply greyknight!,