Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help Comparing Hardware (graphics card, and CPU). Radeon Series

Compare graphics card cpu help pls

• Please log in to reply

MJordan1

MJordan1

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Hello, this is my first time posting, and if by any chance I'm in the wrong place / sub-forum, please let me know and I will correct it ASAP.

For a while now I've tried to determine what the difference between an HP Workstation is compared to a PC. I know that a workstation is designed to be run 24/7, have a high performance graphics card and processor, and is supposed to run some of the more impressive software out there for editing, and rendering.

But, can a Workstation be used just as a regular PC would?

Can a workstation be used for:

- Web Browsing / E-Mailing / Facebook

- Online banking / Online purchasing

- Playing games like World of Warcraft, or League of Legends, or games on Steam such as DoTa, Sims 3/4etc.

The reason I'm asking is my girlfriend is looking for a decent computer, that can run games on at least mid settings (in terms of graphics). The computer she currently has (the one Im using) is quite out-dated, and not well fit for gaming. 

This computer has: 

- AMD Quadcore A6-3620 Accelerated Processor

- 6GB of DDR 3 RAM

- AMD Radeon HD 6530D Discrete graphics card.

- 1TB of memory

And I was looking online for a good, and affordable gaming PC, who can run some of the games mentioned above well, but a lot of them out there are close to $800-1000 and that's a bit out of our price range.