Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

BSOD on windows 7

random crashes

  • Please log in to reply

#1
Dotsh

Dotsh

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

i have built a new pc from the ground up, and just 1 month later i started getting this random blue screens. and sometimes the pc starts back on after a shutdown.

 

i have no clue what is happening.

 

after reading through the forums i realised that i have to post the dump files. i would appreciate some help.

 

 

Attached Files


  • 0

Advertisements


#2
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,860 posts

:welcome:   Dotsh

 

While I look at your crash dumps can you please post back with the brand and model name or number for the MB, CPU, Ram, add on video card if one is used, HDD/optical drive/s and the PSU.


  • 0

#3
Dotsh

Dotsh

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

here are the specs that i got through Intel system identifier.

 

Intel System Identification Utility Reference Number: 0269 5155
Date Created: Saturday, August 23, 2014 5:13:09 AM
ADVANCED

SYSTEM INFORMATION

Computer Manufacturer

ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.

Computer Model

Z87-A

Operating System (O/S)

Microsoft Windows 7 Service Pack 1

Operating System Build (O/S)

(build 7601), 64-bit

Operating System (version)

6.1.7601

O/S Language

0409

System RAM

16 GB

.NET Framework Version

3.5.30729.5420

CD or DVD Device

not detected

System Hard Drive Overview

 

System Total Storage Size:

931.4 GB

Local Disk D:

736.1 GB

Used space:

227.6 GB

Free Space:

508.5 GB

Local Disk C:

195.3 GB

Used space:

163.8 GB

Free Space:

31.5 GB

Memory Detail

 

Total Physical Memory

16 GB

Available Physical Memory

12.8 GB

Total Virtual Memory

2.0 GB

Physical Drive

0

Maker

WDC

Model

WD1002FAEX-00Z3A

Bus Type

SATA

Physical Drive

0

Maker

WDC

Model

WD1002FAEX-00Z3A

Bus Type

SATA

Internet Browser [1]

Internet Explorer

Internet Browser Version [1]

9.11.9600.17239

 

CHIPSET INFORMATION

 

 

Chipset Software Status

 

Intel® Chipset Installation File (INF) detected

not detected

 

 

Detected Chipset INF Version

not detected

Chipset INF Status

Device is unknown or unsupported

Latest Version Available

not detected

 

 

Detailed Chipset Information

not detected

 

GRAPHICS INFORMATION

Graphics Product [1]

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760

Driver Status

Non-Intel device detected

Video Memory

3.9 GB

Current Graphics Resolution

1920x1080

Current Color Depth

32 Bits Per Pixel

Raw EDID [1]

not detected

 

MOTHERBOARD INFORMATION

Manufacturer

ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.

Model

Z87-A

AA Number

not detected

BIOS Vendor

American Megatrends Inc.

BIOS Version

American Megatrends Inc. 1207

BIOS Release Date

07/01/13

System Memory

16 GB

Built-in Audio Driver Component

not detected

Built-in Audio Driver Version

1.3.30.1

Built-in Audio Driver Status

Non-Intel device detected

 

PROCESSOR INFORMATION

Manufacturer

Intel

Model

Intel® Core™ i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz

Intel Processor analysis tools

Intel Processor analysis tools

CPU Speed

3.5 GHz

Link to Processor Specification

Link to Processor Specification

CPU Revision

09

CPU Type

00

CPU Family

06

CPU Model

3C

CPU Stepping

3

 

WIRED NETWORKING INFORMATION

Wired Networking Product

 

Driver Version

7.67.1226.2012

Driver Status

Device is unknown or unsupported

Intel PROSet Version

not detected

Hardware IDs

PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168&SUBSYS_859E1043&REV_11

 

 

 

WIRELESS NETWORKING INFORMATION

Wireless Networking Product

Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller

Driver Version

7.67.1226.2012

Software/Driver Status

Non-Intel device detected

Latest version available

not detected

Hardware IDs

PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168&SUBSYS_859E1043&REV_11

 


Edited by Dotsh, 23 August 2014 - 06:26 AM.

  • 0

#4
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,860 posts

If it is easier download then run Speccy and post the url for us, details here

 

Is MBAM the free or Pro version, if free then uninstall it and test, if the Pro version, make a note of the licence key then uninstall it and test, this because it is highlighted in both dumps.


  • 0

#5
Dotsh

Dotsh

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

there you go.

 

http://speccy.pirifo...z82rDu2JIvkyStC

 

also, i am uninstalling MBAM now to see if it was the one causing the problem.


  • 0

#6
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,860 posts

Thanks for the url  :thumbsup:

 

Speccy shows that you are low on free storage space on the C: drive/partition, please see my canned text below;

Please note that in order to avoid data corruption and/or mechanical HDD failure for data only HDDs you must always have a minimum of 10% of the HDDs overall storage capacity available as free space and between 20 and 25% of a HDDs overall storage capacity available as free space if the OS is on it, the free space allows for information to be copied to and from the drive efficiently and it reduces the risk of the OS being overwritten/becoming corrupted by a simple task such as installing a Windows or a third party software update.

Not having the above can render a computer inoperable if the HDD concerned has the OS on it due to the MBR (Master Boot Record) becoming damaged/corrupt, please see information @ http://pcsupport.abo...sterbootrec.htm

 

 

 

One thing that Speccy cannot tell us is the PSU details, can you tell us the brand and model name or number or post a link.

 

MBAM information acknowledged.


  • 0

#7
Dotsh

Dotsh

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Corsair CXM 600W:

 

http://www.mycom.nl/...xm-600w-modular

 

that is the power supply i have.


  • 0

#8
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,860 posts

Good quality and adequate output PSU  :thumbsup:

 

Are you able to back up any data from the C: drive or uninstall unused programs or old games to free up some space.

 

How is the computer behaving atm.


  • 0

#9
Dotsh

Dotsh

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

thank you, you are awesome as well. :)

 

no crashes so far, sometimes it is abit load, and freed up some on the c drive. i think sometimes it is slow at start up. 

 

tomorrow, i will give you feedback in case something happens again. 

 

thank you very much, again. :)


  • 0

#10
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,860 posts

You are most welcome and thank you for your kind words  :blush:

 

We can help you with improving the performance of your computer, please see my canned text below, there is a fair bit of work so do it at your convenience;


 

My first suggestion is to tidy up the data on your HDD so please follow the directions provided below starting with Autoruns http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb963902

 

1: Extract the Autoruns Zip file contents to a folder.

2: Double-click the "Autoruns.exe".

3: Click on the Filter out Microsoft & Windows results.

4: Go to File then to Export As or Save in some versions.

5: Save AutoRuns.txt file to known location like your Desktop.

6: Attach to your next reply.

Autoruns Tutorial

 

2nd: Download and run TFC from http://www.geekstogo...er-by-oldtimer/ the computer should automatically re-boot on completion but if not do it manually.

 

3rd: Defrag your HDD http://www.auslogics.com/en/software/disk-defrag/  a tidy drive is a faster drive, please note that I am not suggesting that you use any other product or service at the link.

 

Couple of other things to consider are what size HDD do you have and how much free storage space is available, you should always have between 15 and 20% of the overall capacity available, do not have more than 1 AV program running as it causes slowness as the programs fight for control of system resources, this can lead to instability and/or crashes.

What AV do you use, some use a lot more system resources than others Norton and AVG are excellent but very demanding.

 

To speed up your boot times find any unnecessary programs linked to start up "how to" below;

 

START -> RUN

type MSCONFIG in the RUN box

then click OK

 

Click on the start-up TAB

 

Look at each line that has a check in the box, these are start-up items, with the exception of Windows programs and your AV software uncheck the ones you do not want to run at start-up.

 


  • 0

#11
Dotsh

Dotsh

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

ok, so far no crashes. and i did all the steps you mentioned to speed up the start up process and it really worked.

 

but, is it possible to install Malewarebytes again or do i have to look for an alternative? and my pc behaves weird when i try to do a shut down, sometimes it powers back on as if i did a restart.

 

again, you are so awesome. thanks a ton. 

Attached Files


Edited by Dotsh, 24 August 2014 - 05:02 AM.

  • 0

#12
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,860 posts

Glad to hear that you are happy with the improvements made  :thumbsup:

 

Try booting into Safe Mode with Networking and then reinstalling MBAM, please note that I am under no circumstances asking you to run it, that is something that only the malware staff deal with.

 

Go back to your Autoruns log and disable (not delete) anything that you do not wish to run automatically, leave anything Intel or driver related and look more at the likes of Adobe, Citrix, Java, 7 zip and Rim etc;

 

 03_autoruns_disable_entries_0411.jpg


Autouns allows you to either delete or disable entries. Both will stop the selected application or extension from being loaded automatically but if you opt to delete the entry you should know that this is a permanent change. So how do you do either? Well if you just want to disable an option to stop it from automatically loading, you can do so by simply deselecting the option. Look at the picture above this text and see how some of the Autoruns have been disabled by clicking the checkbox next to the image name. 

Any entries that you decide to simply disable can be restored by simply running Autoruns and selecting the option again. 


  • 0

#13
Dotsh

Dotsh

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

so far so awesome, thank you very much. i hereby conclude this topic. :) 


  • 0

#14
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,860 posts

Thanks for the follow up but it would help if you could tell us what steps you have or have not taken  ;) 


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP