Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Upgrading my current system

Upgrading component

• Please log in to reply

123Mario

123Mario

• PipPip
  • 10 posts

Hi, everybody, well to stars i sould say, i'm not really good with my english, so if there's something you don't understand don't afraid to ask what I mean.

So I want to upgrade my computer, But I can't figure out what i can put in my computer and what I can't.

I guess I need to give my system information.

I just want to know what is the best I can buy for gaming without changing the motherboard

Operating system : Microsoft Windows 7 pro (64 bit)

Model : Compaq Presario KT580AA-A2L SR5548F

Processor : Intel pentium E2200 @ 2.20 GHz (1 Processor, 2 cores)

Processor ID : GenuineIntel Family 6 model 15 stepping 13

Processor codename : Conroe

Processor Package : Socket 775 LGA

Motherboard : Msi Boston

Northbridge : Intel P35/G33/G31 10

Southbridge : Intel 82801GB (ICH7/R) A1

Memory : 4 Gbytes Kingston DDR2 SDRAM

Graphic Card : Nvidia Geforce 8400GS

If there something else you need to know let me know.

Thanks for your time.

Advertisements

discipulus

discipulus

• Pip
  • 4 posts

The best upgrade, dollar for dollar, for general use, is to install Windows to a solid state drive.

The best investment you can make for gaming performance would be to upgrade your video card. I would recommend a GTX 650 or 750 from Nvidia. Personally, I like Nvidia over AMD.