Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

How to disable Scan and Fix


  • Please log in to reply

#1
maddog10

maddog10

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts

Is there a way to disable the Scan and fix dialog when you insert a usb device, But not disable the autoplay feature? I'm not particulary caring if a drive needs fixed or not. I just want the prompt to disappear.

 

Thanks


  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Plastic Nev

Plastic Nev

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 485 posts

That must be your antivirus or other security, it is not to my knowledge a part of Windows. The autoplay is, but not the scan and fix that you are seeing.

 

Nev.


  • 0

#3
hazard209

hazard209

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
Here's some background info about that warning:http://www.howtogeek...hould-i-let-it/

If you don't want that prompt to come up anymore, then after fixing the drive make sure to properly unmount/eject it from Windows before removing it from your computer.
  • 0

#4
maddog10

maddog10

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts

But if you just want the prompt not to ever appear, but to still have the autoplay working?


  • 0

#5
Ztruker

Ztruker

    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,091 posts

Then always use the Safely Remove Hardware icon in the System Tray of Task Manager.


  • 0

#6
maddog10

maddog10

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts

Sorry, but I'm not interested in the prompt and want it to stop being displayed as a system hack. But someone else uses the PC and the autoplay is good for them. I do safely remove for most things. I just did it for a test on my usb stick and the prompt still comes up and besides when the device cannot be unmounted safely the last thing I want to do is let windows check through a 2TB hard disk when things are fine. I reckon this simply can't be done, but it would be nice know otherwise.


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP