Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Driver_power_state_failure (Resolved)


  • Please log in to reply

#16
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,107 posts

You are most welcome and heres to hoping that it stays all good  :thumbsup:


  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Lola2014

Lola2014

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

Dear Phillpower2,

 

I want to let you know that my computer seems to be working fine now, there have been no crash since.


Edited by Lola2014, 18 December 2014 - 11:42 AM.

  • 0

#18
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,107 posts

That is great news and thank you for the follow up  :thumbsup:


  • 0

#19
Lola2014

Lola2014

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

I am definitely relieved, thank you so much for solving it! However, does it mean that I can not have hibernation on my computer? I thought removing it was a temporary step in diagnosing the problem. Please let me know!


  • 0

#20
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,107 posts

An oversight, sorry, you can re-enable hibernation now.


  • 0

#21
Lola2014

Lola2014

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

Great, but how do I do that?


  • 0

#22
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,107 posts

Step by step guide courtesy of ISAID here


  • 0

#23
Lola2014

Lola2014

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

Hi Phillpower2,

 

I tried to follow the instructions but when I click on “Change settings that are currently unavailable”, I do not see "hibernate" icon at all. I am not sure about how to go about it. Could you please help, thank you so much!


  • 0

#24
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,107 posts

Run the MS Fix it wizard, details here


  • 0

#25
Lola2014

Lola2014

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

Finally, I was able to add hibernation. But upon resume, a black screen shows up and stays like that for several minutes and wouldn't show login page.


Edited by Lola2014, 24 December 2014 - 10:56 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#26
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,107 posts

Can I ask what happens when you restarted/restart the computer since running the Microsoft Fix it.


  • 0

#27
Lola2014

Lola2014

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

Generally, I press the power button to make it go in hibernation immediately. But when I try to resume the computer from hibernation, it sort of black screens (with some background light) for several minutes (~5 min) before I can access the Login page.


  • 0

#28
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,107 posts

Forgive me but I am not familiar with a computer that you put into hibernation by pressing the power button, that is normally called either a soft or hard shut down, depending on the state of the computer at the time - does the same thing happen if you put the computer into hibernation from within Windows.


  • 0

#29
Lola2014

Lola2014

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts

When I re-added hibernation setting on my computer, I changed settings in "define power buttons and turn on password protection". I had added "hibernation" for all the settings including "When I press power button" it goes in hibernation. Please let me know if I am making any sense.


Edited by Lola2014, 28 December 2014 - 06:11 PM.

  • 0

#30
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,107 posts

Fully understand what you are saying.

 

Please refer to page 59 of your user manual where you will find the Instant On information and pages 64 to 66 (predominantly page 66) where you will find the information required to restore the MBs default factory power settings, online manual here


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP