Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

What's your favorite distro, and why?

• Please log in to reply

Arklelinuke

Arklelinuke

• PipPip
  • 36 posts

I looked around but didn't see a thread like this, but one would be very useful to prospective Linux users and those trying to pick a distro for the first time.  What's your favorite distro, and why?

I'll admit, I'm fairly new to Linux, and don't use it as my primary OS, so my knowledge is limited as well, but am always looking for new versions to try.  I've tried Ubuntu, Mint, Zorin, SliTaz (used it to resurrect an ancient XP machine), and Puppy Linux.  I'm currently downloading Manjaro KDE.  Out of what I've tried, it's a tie between Zorin and Mint, probably Zorin.  At least on my computer, both just worked.

Advertisements

Nightfall

Nightfall

• PipPip
  • 19 posts

I believe Linux Mint would be the best because it is great on performance & it has some great pre-installed app's for Development, Privacy, and Messaging.

Arklelinuke

Arklelinuke

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 36 posts

Yeah, I like Mint a lot, its Cinnamon interface is very similar to Windows, and is basically Ubuntu but with proprietary stuff preinstalled such as flash, so you don't have to do it.

terry1966

terry1966

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,143 posts

my favorite distro is opensuse, been using it for years now with kde desktop and i suppose the thing i like best about it is the yast system manager and the fact it is just so stable.