Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building a Gaming PC

• Please log in to reply

Elwood0

Elwood0

• PipPip
  • 17 posts

First off let me appologize if this is not the correct section for this post. Im fairly new to computer internals but recently ive felt the need to build my own computer. My current desktop is on its last legs, lasting a whopping 7 years before now. I kinda know the bare basics of what im looking for but im not sure what is to much for me, as I dont know where ill want to go  in the future. my rough budget is just under $1000. if i really need to go over i can, but id like to stay under that number. Any tips where to start, best places to look. I have tried jumping in and looking at processors and motherboards but without a bit of guidence I feel lost. Thank you for any help i can get and if I need to move this post please just let me know and I will.

~Elwood0

Advertisements

anthonybugg

anthonybugg

• PipPip
  • 31 posts

I can help you with this. I can see that you have a budget of $1000 which is more than enough. Also just to let you know, you spelling gaming wrong :D

May I ask what state / city you live in? This will be able to help me give you some trusted places to get parts for your PC that I got mine from :)

Elwood0

Elwood0

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Chesterfield Missouri is kinda my area. And sorry, I've been posting from work so I am typing quickly, didn't double check myself >.<

Edited by Elwood0, 07 January 2015 - 03:10 PM.

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod