Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Building New System

• Please log in to reply

mcsmc

mcsmc

• PipPip
  • 45 posts
I'm planning a new system that I will be building shortly. I want to make sure I have everything I need/want before I start and want to make sure everything is compatible before I actually buy it. However, while I've done quite a bit of upgrading on my current system, I've never built a system from scratch before so I would appreciate some help, specifically since this is the first time I've ever expored RAID options.

I specifically am wondering if anyone can assure me that the RAID controller and hard drives will be compatible with each other.

Here's the current list of hardware I want to purchase:

Motherboard:
GIGABYTE GA-K8NS Ultra-939

Processor:
AMD Athlon 64 3800+

RAM:
1GBx2 DDR PC3200

RAID Controller:
3ware 80062LPKIT PCI SATA Controller Card

Hard Drives:
Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6B250R0 250GB

I already have a NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700 graphics card, and a Creative Soundblaster Live! audio card which I will incorporate into the new system. Case, cooling fans, and etc. are still in the works. Any advice would be much appreciated. :tazz:

Advertisements

Hemal

Hemal

Founding Fart

• Technician
  • 1,470 posts