Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

PC cant reach antivirus sites or ping them [Solved]

antivirus

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#1
FisherXL

FisherXL

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Hello everyone,

 

My laptop cant reach antivirus sites or ping them from the program within (searching for updates). Really annoying, thinking that it is because a virus is blocking it. How do I get rid of this?

 

Jasper


  • 0

Advertisements


#2
FisherXL

FisherXL

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Bump
  • 0

#3
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
No need to bump, or you may get missed :)

First I will need a look at your system

Please download Farbar Recovery Scan Tool and save it to your Desktop.

Note: You need to run the version compatible with your system. If you are not sure which version applies to your system download both of them and try to run them. Only one of them will run on your system, that will be the right version.
  • Right click to run as administrator (XP users click run after receipt of Windows Security Warning - Open File). When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
  • Select additions at the bottom
  • Press Scan button.
    frst.JPG
  • It will produce a log called FRST.txt in the same directory the tool is run from.
  • Please attach both logs generated.
THEN

Download aswMBR.exe ( 4.5mb ) to your desktop.
Double click the aswMBR.exe to run it.
You may be offered the option of using virtualisation, accept that
When it offers to download the virus database allow that as well
Click the "Scan" button to start scan

AswMBR%20scan.JPG


On completion of the scan click save log, save it to your desktop and post in your next reply
  • 0

#4
FisherXL

FisherXL

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Hi Essexboy!

 

Thanks for the help. I've downloaded the 2 programs and let them perform scans. aswMBR.exe kept crashing at exactly the same point though (tried it 6 times). It did find something before it crashed, I'll put 2 screenshots from aswMBR.exe and the 2 logs from the Farbar Recovery Scan Tool (which didn't crash).

 

 

Jasper

Attached Thumbnails

  • knipsel 2.PNG
  • Knipsel.PNG

Attached Files


Edited by FisherXL, 22 February 2015 - 08:44 AM.

  • 0

#5
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
I see that you have run combofix, could you post the log please

After FRST has run could you try an AV site again

CAUTION : This fix is only valid for this specific machine, using it on another may break your computer

Open notepad and copy/paste the text in the quotebox below into it:


CreateRestorePoint: 
HKU\S-1-5-21-3331220309-2337933544-4025952123-1003\...\Run: [Impgsoft] => regsvr32.exe C:\Users\Cosmicus001\AppData\Local\Impgsoft\loader_u.dll <===== ATTENTION
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer: Policy restriction <======= ATTENTION
HKU\S-1-5-21-3331220309-2337933544-4025952123-1003\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer: Policy restriction <======= ATTENTION
2015-02-18 20:50 - 2015-02-18 20:50 - 0000480 ____H () C:\Users\Cosmicus001\AppData\Roaming\麽鎒駓覜
2015-02-11 12:51 - 2015-02-11 12:51 - 00000000 ____D () C:\Users\Cosmicus001\AppData\Local\Impgsoft
2015-02-11 12:50 - 2015-02-15 17:28 - 00000000 ____D () C:\Users\Cosmicus001\AppData\Local\Ijjqsoft
2015-02-18 20:51 - 2015-02-18 20:51 - 0000696 _____ () C:\ProgramData\@system.temp
Task: {2B1DA08F-0DE8-49C7-BA3F-CB1419D9A689} - System32\Tasks\{D04DAF8B-5191-4B32-84D6-5C3FF2FDEC91} => pcalua.exe -a C:\PROGRA~1\SYNCRO~1\UNWISE.EXE -c C:\PROGRA~1\SYNCRO~1\INSTALL.LOG
Task: {46A4A8D9-514B-4647-8B05-5F9C0D44ECE4} - \AdobeFlashPlayerUpdate 2 No Task File <==== ATTENTION
Task: {A385A752-03A7-48D9-97DB-3DEE3A817FEA} - \eventvwr No Task File <==== ATTENTION
Task: {C6B0B786-128D-4C73-B5F1-8C98CF9BAD28} - \AdobeFlashPlayerUpdate No Task File <==== ATTENTION
CMD: netsh advfirewall reset
CMD: netsh advfirewall set allprofiles state ON 
CMD: ipconfig /flushdns 
CMD: netsh winsock reset catalog
CMD: netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt 
CMD: ipconfig /release
CMD: ipconfig /renew 
EmptyTemp: 
CMD: bitsadmin /reset /allusers
Save this as fixlist.txt, in the same location as FRST.exe
FRSTfix.JPG
Run FRST and press Fix
On completion a log will be generated please post that
  • 0

#6
FisherXL

FisherXL

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

here ya go!

Attached Files


  • 0

#7
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Missed one, are you able to access AV web sites ?

CAUTION : This fix is only valid for this specific machine, using it on another may break your computer

Open notepad and copy/paste the text in the quotebox below into it:

CreateRestorePoint:
HKU\S-1-5-21-3331220309-2337933544-4025952123-1003\...\Run: [Emtrtion] => C:\Windows\System32\regsvr32.exe C:\Users\Cosmicus001\AppData\Local\Ijjqsoft\loader_u.dll
C:\Users\Cosmicus001\AppData\Local\Ijjqsoft


Save this as fixlist.txt, in the same location as FRST.exe
FRSTfix.JPG
Run FRST and press Fix
On completion a log will be generated please post that
  • 0

#8
FisherXL

FisherXL

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Yeah I can now! Does that mean it was because of a virus I couldnt reach the AV websites? And that virus is gone now?


  • 0

#9
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Yes it was in those two folders I killed

Could you zip the contents of the FRST folder at C:\FRST and attach it to the next post. I will then upload to the AV companies for inclusion and analysis

Once I have that we can then remove all the tools you have used and secure you :)
  • 0

#10
FisherXL

FisherXL

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Sorry, English isn't my native language and I'm not much of a computer wizard, I think you meant this by zipping C:\FRST ?

 

Its 17.5MB and I can only attacj 5 MB, so I uploaded it to Zippyshare if thats ok?

 

http://www62.zippysh...RzLyJ/file.html


  • 0

#11
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Yep that is good enough, I have it now thank you

Subject to no further problems :)

I will remove my tools now and give some recommendations, but, I would like you to run for 24 hours or so and come back if you have any problems

Now the best part of the day ----- Your log now appears clean :thumbsup:

A good workman always cleans up after himself so..The following will implement some cleanup procedures as well as reset System Restore points:

Remove Combofix

Click Start then Run.
On Windows7 or Vista you may use Start Search field if Run is not available.
In the box copy/paste the following command:

ComboFix /Uninstall

Note that there is a space between " ComboFix " and " /Uninstall " .

Then click OK (or press Enter ).
Wait for the uninstall process to complete.

Remove tools

Download and run Delfix

delfix.JPG


: Keep Java Updated :

WARNING: Java is the #1 exploited program at this time. The Department of Homeland Security recommends that computer users disable Java
See this article

I would recommend that you completely uninstall Java unless you need it to run an important software.
In that instance I would recommend that you disable Java in your browsers until you need it for that software and then enable it. (See How to diasble Java in your web browser and How to unplug Java from the browser)

If you do need to keep Java then download JavaRa
Run the programme and select Remove Java Runtime. Uninstall all versions of Java present
Once done then run it again and select Update Java runtime > Download and install Latest version
javara.JPG


Now that you are clean, to help protect your computer in the future I recommend that you get the following free programmes:

CryptoPrevent install this programme to lock down and prevent crypto ransome ware

CryptoPrevent.JPG

Malwarebytes.

Update and run weekly to keep your system clean

Unchecky

Click on the link above to be taken to Unchecky.com
click the very large Download button.
click Save
Click Open folder
Right click on the Unchecky_setup and choose to Run as Administrator
Once open click the Install button.
Then click on Finish
Unchecky is now installed and will help you keep unwanted check boxes unchecked, this is a fire and forget programme ;)

It is critical to have both a firewall and anti virus to protect your system and to keep them updated.

To learn more about how to protect yourself while on the internet read this little guide Best security practices Keep safe :wave:
  • 0

#12
FisherXL

FisherXL

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Thank you so much! Really strange malwarebyte couldn't find the virus.

 

You're a hero.


  • 0

#13
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
It is new, undetected by all Antivirus programmes on Virus total

Keep safe now :)
  • 0

#14
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Since this issue appears to be resolved ... this Topic has been closed. Glad we could help. :)

If you're the topic starter, and need this topic reopened, please contact a staff member with the address of the thread.

Everyone else please begin a New Topic.
  • 0






Similar Topics


Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: antivirus

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP