Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

newbie needing help

• Please log in to reply

oreddragno

oreddragno

• Pip
  • 5 posts
[FONT=Arial][SIZE=7][COLOR=blue][B]I am looking to build basiclly a media computer that could be used to upload my vast collection of cds possibly be hooked up to my tv to play dvd's and depending on how cheap can go use as a dvr. would like some ideas of what to look for and some possible set up sudjestions. I am a newbie who wants to learn everything so dish as much as you can at me. I am looking budget wise.

Advertisements

audioboy

audioboy

• PipPipPip
  • 857 posts
I would suggest you look into mythtv and freevo, linux versions of windows media center that work quite well. I recently read a comparison that said mythtv beat media center quite handily, but cant find it again right now...

here is an older article that gives you some idea of what its about though. note that the hardware doesnt need to be nearly as powerful.

I want to build one of these someday. its one of those projects thats "on the list..."

EDIT- heres a good how to, very recent.

Edited by audioboy, 13 June 2005 - 07:39 PM.

hacp

hacp

• PipPip
  • 34 posts
Ok, he says hes a newbie, so it will probably take him a long time to learn to optimally install everything for a linux media center.

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
Doesnt take long to learn anything if you really want to, who says he has to learn he could find one of the numerous guides on the internet for doing anything.