Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Browser pop-ups\ Unable to view Https page [Closed]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
Valinorum

Valinorum

    GeekU Guardian Bot

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 2,915 posts
How is your PC performing?
  • 0

Advertisements


#17
angelbreath_1999

angelbreath_1999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Its definately improved.  But I am still not able to access https pages like yahoo's login url and also apps like yahoo messanger will not login---  troubleshooting error points to some type of issue access https, etc


  • 0

#18
Valinorum

Valinorum

    GeekU Guardian Bot

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 2,915 posts
What warning do you get?
  • 0

#19
angelbreath_1999

angelbreath_1999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
In IE, when I go to the http a yahoo login page I get what looks like to be the standard IE can not connect to the page message, check internet connection error

When I try to login via yahoo messenger, the login fails and throuble shoot error says to check proxy and DNS, etc.

I can try to post a screen shot of the error- how to I do that?
  • 0

#20
Valinorum

Valinorum

    GeekU Guardian Bot

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 2,915 posts
Please download MiniToolBox, save it to your desktop and run it.
Checkmark the following checkboxes:
  • Flush DNS
  • Report IE Proxy Settings
  • Reset IE Proxy Settings
  • Report FF Proxy Settings
  • Reset FF Proxy Settings
  • List content of Hosts
  • List IP configuration
  • List Winsock Entries
Click Go and post the result (Result.txt). A copy of Result.txt will be saved in the same directory the tool is run.

Note: When using "Reset FF Proxy Settings" option Firefox should be closed.
  • 0

#21
angelbreath_1999

angelbreath_1999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

ok.  I ran that mini process.  The log is below. 

 

After I ran the process, I opened IE and went to https://login.yahoo.com. I get a Internet Explorer Cannot display the webpafe error

 

 

This problem can be caused by a variety of issues, including:

  • Internet connectivity has been lost.
  • The website is temporarily unavailable.
  • The Domain Name Server (DNS) is not reachable.
  • The Domain Name Server (DNS) does not have a listing for the website's domain.
  • If this is an HTTPS (secure) address, click tools, click Internet Options, click Advanced, and check to be sure the SSL and TLS protocols are enabled under the security section.

 

MiniToolBox by Farbar  Version: 14-04-2015
Ran by rainmaker (administrator) on 01-05-2015 at 16:30:27
Running from "d:\data\rainmaker\Desktop"
Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2 (X86)
Model:  Manufacturer:
Boot Mode: Normal
***************************************************************************

========================= Flush DNS: ===================================


Windows IP Configuration



Successfully flushed the DNS Resolver Cache.


========================= IE Proxy Settings: ==============================

Proxy is not enabled.
No Proxy Server is set.

"Reset IE Proxy Settings": IE Proxy Settings were reset.

========================= FF Proxy Settings: ==============================


"Reset FF Proxy Settings": Firefox Proxy settings were reset.

========================= Hosts content: =================================
::1       localhost

127.0.0.1       localhost

========================= IP Configuration: ================================


WARNING: Could not obtain host information from machine: [3YFK943Z]. Some commands may not be available.
The network location cannot be reached. For information about network troubleshooting, see Windows Help.



# ----------------------------------
# Interface IP Configuration         
# ----------------------------------
pushd interface ip


# Interface IP Configuration for "Wireless Network Connection"

set address name="Wireless Network Connection" source=dhcp
set dns name="Wireless Network Connection" source=dhcp register=NONE
set wins name="Wireless Network Connection" source=dhcp

# Interface IP Configuration for "{5D18D440-C4F7-421C-ABCA-1AE9DCE56799}"

set address name="{5D18D440-C4F7-421C-ABCA-1AE9DCE56799}" source=static addr=0.0.0.0 mask=0.0.0.0
set dns name="{5D18D440-C4F7-421C-ABCA-1AE9DCE56799}" source=static addr=none register=PRIMARY
set wins name="{5D18D440-C4F7-421C-ABCA-1AE9DCE56799}" source=static addr=none


popd
# End of interface IP configuration




Windows IP Configuration



        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : 3YFK943Z

        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . : oak.fg.rbc.com

        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

        DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : oak.fg.rbc.com

                                            rbccm.com

                                            ln.rbccm.com

                                            rbcds.com

                                            gm.rbcds.com

                                            ny.rbcds.com

                                            rbc1.royalbank.com

                                            fg.rbc.com

                                            uklon.fg.rbc.com

                                            pine.fg.rbc.com

                                            rbc.com



Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : home

        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection

        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-77-3D-A3-19

        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.17

        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

        DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

        Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 2015, May, 01 4:23:06 PM

        Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 2015, May, 02 4:23:06 PM



Ethernet adapter {5D18D440-C4F7-421C-ABCA-1AE9DCE56799}:



        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :

        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Nortel IPSECSHM Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport

        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 44-45-53-54-42-00

        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0

        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0

        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Server:  Wireless_Broadband_Router.home
Address:  192.168.1.1

Name:    google.com.oak.fg.rbc.com
Address:  92.242.140.21



Pinging google.com [65.199.32.154] with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 65.199.32.154: bytes=32 time=8ms TTL=60

Reply from 65.199.32.154: bytes=32 time=85ms TTL=60



Ping statistics for 65.199.32.154:

    Packets: Sent = 2, Received = 2, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 8ms, Maximum = 85ms, Average = 46ms

Server:  Wireless_Broadband_Router.home
Address:  192.168.1.1

Name:    yahoo.com.oak.fg.rbc.com
Address:  92.242.140.21



Pinging yahoo.com [98.139.183.24] with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=54

Reply from 98.139.183.24: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=54



Ping statistics for 98.139.183.24:

    Packets: Sent = 2, Received = 2, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 28ms, Maximum = 42ms, Average = 35ms



Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:



Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128



Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:

    Packets: Sent = 2, Received = 2, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:

    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

===========================================================================
Interface List
0x1 ........................... MS TCP Loopback interface
0x2 ...00 1b 77 3d a3 19 ...... Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection - Packet Scheduler Miniport
0x4 ...44 45 53 54 42 00 ...... Nortel IPSECSHM Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport
===========================================================================
===========================================================================
Active Routes:
Network Destination        Netmask          Gateway       Interface  Metric
          0.0.0.0          0.0.0.0      192.168.1.1    192.168.1.17      25
        127.0.0.0        255.0.0.0        127.0.0.1       127.0.0.1      1
      192.168.1.0    255.255.255.0     192.168.1.17    192.168.1.17      25
     192.168.1.17  255.255.255.255        127.0.0.1       127.0.0.1      25
    192.168.1.255  255.255.255.255     192.168.1.17    192.168.1.17      25
        224.0.0.0        240.0.0.0     192.168.1.17    192.168.1.17      25
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255     192.168.1.17    192.168.1.17      1
  255.255.255.255  255.255.255.255     192.168.1.17               4      1
Default Gateway:       192.168.1.1
===========================================================================
Persistent Routes:
  None
========================= Winsock entries =====================================

Catalog5 01 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog5 02 C:\WINNT\system32\winrnr.dll [16896] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog5 03 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 01 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 02 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 03 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 04 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 05 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 06 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 07 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 08 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 09 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 10 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 11 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 12 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 13 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 14 C:\WINNT\system32\mswsock.dll [245248] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 15 C:\WINNT\system32\rsvpsp.dll [90112] (Microsoft Corporation)
Catalog9 16 C:\WINNT\system32\rsvpsp.dll [90112] (Microsoft Corporation)

**** End of log ****
 


  • 0

#22
Valinorum

Valinorum

    GeekU Guardian Bot

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 2,915 posts
Can you follow instruction of this thread?
  • 0

#23
angelbreath_1999

angelbreath_1999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

Hi.  I followed the attached link through each step.  Only issue I ran into was adding DLL regsvr32 mshtml.dll.  Got error-  mshtml.dll was loaded, but the DllregisterServer entry point was not found.  The file can not be registered. 

 

After done everything, rebooted IE, same issue is occuring..


  • 0

#24
Valinorum

Valinorum

    GeekU Guardian Bot

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 2,915 posts
Can you try a different browser? I just want to make sure that it is not for Internet Explorer only.
  • 0

#25
angelbreath_1999

angelbreath_1999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
It seems to work with Firefox. But not IE and I guess yahoo messenger must link through IE as it refers to the internet options page in the troubleshooting.
  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Valinorum

Valinorum

    GeekU Guardian Bot

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 2,915 posts
Try running this. If it does not solve it, open elevated command-prompt (instruction's here) and type SFC /SCANNOW. Hit 'Enter' and let the scan finish. Report me the result.
  • 0

#27
angelbreath_1999

angelbreath_1999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
Sure I'll run these tomorrow and post back

Thanks
  • 0

#28
angelbreath_1999

angelbreath_1999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts

I ran the MS msi fix file.  After it finished, rebooted as requested---  same issue upon reboot

 

Tried that sfc command.  was asking for install disk.  Is that required?  I need to dig around for it, not sure where I put it.  Please advise


  • 0

#29
Valinorum

Valinorum

    GeekU Guardian Bot

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 2,915 posts
Open Internet Explorer. On the menu bar go to Tools >Options >Advanced. Scroll down to Security, and make sure "Do not save encrypted pages to disk" is unchecked. See if it works.
  • 0

#30
angelbreath_1999

angelbreath_1999

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
Out of town. I will try this on Tuesday. Please keep forum open. Thanks
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP