Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Wireless router email problem

• Please log in to reply

nditt

nditt

• Pip
  • 9 posts
I am new to networking, but apparently not alone here.

I have a wireless 2.4GHz broadband Internet connection which works fine when connected directly to the computer.

When connecting through my wireless router, Linksys Wt54G & latest firmware, the internet connection works fine but I am unable to connect to the ISP. I cannot connect for email or can I go to their website via the internet.

I bought a Belkin router and it had the same problem. So I bought the Linksys, same problem. Linksys tech support is worthless and I have found no experts to help me.

It is as though there is an IP filter in the router. Everything works perfectly through the router except the connection to my ISP. I have programmed and reprogrammed the router and it won't fly.

Pleas help. :tazz:

Advertisements

Linkmaster

Linkmaster

Visiting Staff

• PipPipPip
  • 940 posts
Hi nditt, Welcome to GTG !!
What is your ISP??
Does the wireless connection work??
if not, did you setup a SSID on the Linksys site??
Have you been able to browse the ISP website before the router??

nditt

nditt

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Everything before the router works fine. I can connect to the ISP, both at the website and the email site.

The wireless connection works fine, except for the ISP connection. I have a notebook that acts exactly like the desktop. Both are able to browse the internet with no problems, just not the ISP.

Thanks for the help.