Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Internet connection dropping and reconnecting very frequently

internet connection problems connectivity network problems

• Please log in to reply

AK_Doug

AK_Doug

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Good night, or morning depending on where you live.  This is my first time on the forums and I wanted to see if I could get help from some tech experts on here. See, I've had a problem with my internet connection for the past few weeks that's been persistent and pretty annoying.  

My internet connection keeps disconnecting and reconnecting in a way that makes it almost predictable.  After a few minutes of browsing, my internet connection just drops, and I can see the red 'x' appearing on the network icon at the bottom right of my screen.  I give it a few seconds and it reconnects.

I'm running windows 7 on an HP Pavilion slimline, and recently subscribed to a broadband internet connection from Time Warner Cable, which I switched over to from AT&T's DSL service.  I was given a router/gateway with the subscription, an ARRIS TG862G Router that seems to be working just fine when providing wifi signal, but the main issue is coming from the internet on the computer itself.  The router is connected through our cable service.

I'm not too sure how to solve this problem, and have looked at other posts from people having the same issues, but they don't seem to be helping.  If anyone can help it'd be greatly appreciated, and I'll be able to provide pictures or more information if needed.  Thanks. 

Advertisements

SpywareDr