Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

BSOD tcpic.sys


Best Answer phillpower2 , 12 July 2015 - 05:59 AM

   hanabiraasashi, Each one of your crash dumps points towards MBAM as the cause, namely mbamservice.ex Uninstall MBAM and let us know if the issue is resolved. TIPTo ensur... Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply

#1
hanabiraasashi

hanabiraasashi

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Hi all,

 

A few weeks ago, one of my computers started BSOD'ing. Bad_Pool_Header is the error, and bluescreenview pointed to tcpip.sys as the culprit. I searched that and I found this lovely website where someone said that the problem is likely caused by a bad driver or program trying to use the internet.

 

Edit: I should add that I reformatted from the recovery partition and this problem persists with increasing frequency. 

 

Would anyone mind reading my minidumps and pointing me in the right direction? :)

 

I greatly appreciate any help.

Attached Files


Edited by hanabiraasashi, 11 July 2015 - 09:35 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 22,121 posts
✓  Best Answer

:welcome:   hanabiraasashi,

 

Each one of your crash dumps points towards MBAM as the cause, namely mbamservice.ex

 

Uninstall MBAM and let us know if the issue is resolved.

 

TIP

To ensure that you receive notification of any reply to your topic please click on the Follow this topic tab at the upper right corner of the page. 


  • 0

#3
hanabiraasashi

hanabiraasashi

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Malwarebytes??  thats strange.. why would this be causing an issue? ive been using it for years. Also, its been on this computer for a year before the crashes started.

 

I uninstalled to see if it helps, but i wonder what the root cause is.

 

edit: on their support page, it looks like a bunch of people have started having this issue

 

Thanks for looking into this!


Edited by hanabiraasashi, 12 July 2015 - 08:28 AM.

  • 0

#4
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 22,121 posts

Possibly a bad update, as suggested uninstall MBAM and test, if the issue is resolved, create a new restore point, reinstall MBAM afresh and test.


  • 0

#5
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 22,121 posts

Sorry but I missed your edited reply #3  :(

 

This post separately so that hopefully you do not miss it.

 

Other security products also have blips with their software and not just Malwarebytes, BitDefender is one example that caused a member problems recently, like yourself with MBAM they had used BD for time without any issue and so could not understand the problem happening now.

 

How is the computer now behaving.

 

Polite reminder

 

TIP

To ensure that you receive notification of any reply to your topic please click on the Follow this topic tab at the upper right corner of the page. 


  • 0

#6
hanabiraasashi

hanabiraasashi

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

It seems to have resolved the issue. It looks like if I want to continue using malwarebytes on that system, I need to have someone over there sift through logs.

 

But it hasnt blue screened since i removed it so, fingers crossed.

 

Thanks!


  • 0

#7
Ztruker

Ztruker

    Member 5k

  • Technician
  • 7,087 posts

Were you using the Free or Pro version? What release? Current is 2.1.8.1057.


  • 0

#8
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 22,121 posts

It seems to have resolved the issue. It looks like if I want to continue using malwarebytes on that system, I need to have someone over there sift through logs.

 

But it hasnt blue screened since i removed it so, fingers crossed.

 

Thanks!

 

You are welcome but can I ask, did you as suggested create a new restore point and reinstall MBAM afresh (preferably version 2.1.8.1057 as mentioned above by Ztruker).


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP