Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows 7 Laptop lags 45 minutes signing onto internet [Closed]

Trojan.Upatre

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
lorraine48

lorraine48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Start up went easily after......to close down is the problem...here goes:

closed down mozilla, aol, and then went to start button to close down the regular way.

The screen darkened a little and a notice came up saying "program still needs to close (waiting for) explorer.exe

                                                                                                                                             playing logoff sound.......

still waiting 3 + minutes with logging off and spinning circle it said to click cancel...still nothing

I then forced a shut down by holding in the on/off button.

It then took ten minutes - I clocked it to be sure and wrote all this down as i could not remember it all in order :yeah:

I then waited the few minutes as you suggested and hit the one button and the desktop loaded instantly - the viewpoint message came up and i hit do not show again and clicked no ( as you suggested yesterday) it went away , and I signed on to mozilla internet as my daughter suggested i do where all our logs are kept with this page.  - That's where I am now.


  • 0

Advertisements


#17
lorraine48

lorraine48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Just to let you know the new information you listed this morning I did not do anything because of all the difficulties in signing on and my daughter always walks me through everything because I am a real computer "GEEK" and she is the smartie pants in the family and shows me how to do what you tell me to do !!!   :geek:   My 9 year old granddaughter could probably help me too kids today are so smart when it comes to this stuff...thank god for them !!!  :D


  • 0

#18
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK could you backup your bookmarks for Firefox

1.Click the Bookmarks button and select Show All Bookmarks to open the Library window.
2.From the toolbar on the Library window, click Import and Backup and choose Export Bookmarks to HTML....
3.In the Export Bookmarks File window that opens, choose a location to save the file, which is named bookmarks.html by default. The desktop is usually a good spot, but any place that is easy to remember will work.
4.Click the Save button. The Export Bookmarks File window will close.
5.Close the Library window.

Having done that then download a fresh copy of Firefox from here https://www.mozilla....GB/firefox/new/to your desktop
Go to control panel > add/remove and uninstall Firefox
Reboot and then reinstall Firefox and import your bookmarks


With regards to AOL is that just the connection element for your modem ?

Also is Trend Micro a free antivirus from your ISP
  • 0

#19
lorraine48

lorraine48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Downloaded fresh copy of firefox and imported bookmarks - :spoton: :spoton:

With regards to aol I still utilize that platform because it is what I started with and don't like change so its easy for me to start off with.

I have a desktop application icon, version 9.7 which is how I access my email.  I do not go through mozilla, IE. or Chrome for email purposes.  I only use AOL for bookmarks are all of my favorites that I utilize regularly, pretty much thats all I use it for.  I have been using Google Chrome to access Facebook ( playing farmville) my daughter yells at me all the time for using Chrome she says its a hog of space regarding facebook/farmville.

 

Trend micro is my current anti virus that came when I purchased my laptop.

 

Thanks again for all your help.

Should I hold off from post  #13 instructions at this time until I hear from you. :wave:


  • 0

#20
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
You can run the post 13 programmes whenever you are happy....

Meanwhile if you only use AOL for mail then you can bypass the need for that by using windows live mail which has a much lower impact on the system
Also you could then uninstall AOL :)

Are you purchasing a TrendMicro licence every time it expires, as that too can sometimes be a resource hog. There are lighter and free antivirus programmes out there
  • 0

#21
lorraine48

lorraine48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

# DelFix v10.8 - Logfile created 26/07/2015 at 11:44:55
# Updated 29/07/2014 by Xplode
# Username : Lorraine - LORRAINE-HP
# Operating System : Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1 (64 bits)

~ Removing disinfection tools ...

Deleted : C:\FRST
Deleted : C:\AdwCleaner
Deleted : C:\Users\Lorraine\Desktop\FRST-OlderVersion
Deleted : C:\logFile.txt
Deleted : C:\Users\Lorraine\Desktop\Addition.txt
Deleted : C:\Users\Lorraine\Desktop\AdwCleaner(1).exe
Deleted : C:\Users\Lorraine\Desktop\Fixlog.txt
Deleted : C:\Users\Lorraine\Desktop\FRST.txt
Deleted : C:\Users\Lorraine\Desktop\FRST64.exe
Deleted : C:\Users\Lorraine\Downloads\AdwCleaner.exe
Deleted : HKLM\SOFTWARE\AdwCleaner

~ Creating registry backup ... OK

~ Cleaning system restore ...

Deleted : RP #288 [Windows Update | 07/22/2015 02:53:18]
Deleted : RP #291 [Restore Point Created by FRST | 07/25/2015 18:43:17]
Deleted : RP #293 [Restore Point Created by FRST | 07/25/2015 20:25:19]

New restore point created !

~ Resetting system settings ... OK

########## - EOF - ##########

 

 

Delfix has been completed.  Malwarebytes will be run weekly, unchecky has been installed and run.

trend micro is something that came with my computer free for life.  What would you recommend for free anti-virus?


  • 0

#22
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Do you have a licence file for TrendMicro before we start playing :) Just in case the alternatives make only a minor difference
  • 0

#23
lorraine48

lorraine48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

Im sure I do - somewhere.... :spoton:

But when I installed it it was for lifetime of computer thought I would not need it anytime soon.

Im okay with your advice with a new program if you think it would be better then the Trend.


  • 0

#24
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
I am thinking more on the resources option as the first boot of the day appears to be your main sticking point :)

Also have you thought about using WindowsLive mail instead of AOL


OK new antivirus, with install instructions and tips



Download Avast - direct link Avast 2015 to your desktop
Download TrendMicro removal tool to your desktop

Disconnect from the internet

Run the TrendMicro uninstall tool
You will probably need to reboot on completion

After the reboot run the Avast set up file on your desktop
Select Custom install
Remove the ticks from the first page for the following unless you want them :
avastchrome.JPG
Dropbox
Chrome
Chrome toolbar


Select Next
Deselect the following from the middle column as you will not need them :
avasttools.JPG
SecureLine
Grimefighter


Select Continue and allow the programme to install

Be aware that the first reboot may take a few minutes as Avast builds the virtual machine

Avast will need to be registered as this helps them determine the server load, as updates are downloaded in small bursts every few minutes each is about 2Kb

How to register

Right click the Avast orange blob on the task bar
Select registration
Select Standard Protection
avast%20register1.JPG
Fill in your e-mail address
avast%20register2.JPG
Click register with e-mail address and you are done
Once registered open Avast
Go to Settings > General
Place a tick in "Scan for Potentially Unwanted Programmes (PUP's) "
Place a tick in "Silent /Gaming mode"
pups.JPG

Job done, it will now update itself so you can forget about it :)
  • 0

#25
lorraine48

lorraine48

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 31 posts

I need to be stepping away from the computer for some time and don't want you to think i'm not getting back to you.

 

I (we)my daughter and I will be back on tomorrow and will follow your last post instructions.  I will look for you tomorrow with my results.

 

Thanks again for all your help and have a great night !!  You've been so helpful. :wave:

 

:wave:

 


  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Time is not a problem.... Make the most of it :)
  • 0

#27
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

Due to lack of feedback, this topic has been closed.

If you need this topic reopened, please contact a staff member. This applies only to the original topic starter. Everyone else please begin a New Topic.


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP