Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Am I a good candidate for this training?

• Please log in to reply

melodicdiscord

melodicdiscord

• Pip
  • 1 posts

I know this isn't the format that you requested, but before I fill out the application as outlined here: http://www.geekstogo...d-instructions/, I wanted to see if my intentions were in line with your school.

I am a music teacher, guitar and music production, with a strong focus on technology. I use computers with everything I do, and the longer I do this (a bit over a decade now), the more I use them. The deeper I get into using Windows as a teaching platform, the more I'm encountering malware/adware/etc issues. I use all paid software, except for when something free/donation will do the job better than something paid, or when a student cannot afford to buy something, I have many (legitimately, as in freeware, mostly from new developers or anyone trying to make a name for themselves) free equivalents I've found over the years. The issue is that unfortuantely these things sometimes come with adware/malware/etc and that cannot be known until it's too late. Also, I'm finding students who have slow systems from years of built up problems stemming from downloading who knows what and never updating anything, including antivirus definitions.