Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

First Solid Game Rig Build: Classic, "Is this good?"

Build Help

• Please log in to reply

VulpesVelox

VulpesVelox

• Pip
  • 3 posts

I am looking to build a gaming rig, and I would appreciate input on my idea so far.  This is my first build, and I could always use more advice.  I wont be offended if you hate it, and please include some kind of reasoning for a suggestion.  I have a list bellow to help with a little background. 

Budget $1500 max, including monitor/OS/Keyboard.....

Primary Focus - Gaming 

Video Editing/3D creation - None 

Overclock - Optional, hence the case that can support liquid later if I decide to. 

Theme/Color - Accidentally made a red/black theme :) don't let that limit you though!

Graphics card - Debating GTX 970 4G vs R9 390 8G, kinda of leaning R9 

CPU - Skylake, thinking i5; i7 doesn't have much overclock room for the $

Monitor - 1mn, 144hz, TN, 1080p, 20-27"; I have picked what I think these specs for the $

Case - Versatility is key, but I want something that will last and be easy to install upgrades on years down the road

CPU fan - Not entirely sure! Liquid is a little much for now, and I don't plan to do tons of OC (max 20%).  Just want a little of the OC option. 

Mouse - Anyone have a good, super cheap suggestion? bellow $40.

RAM - 8Gb is plenty for me now, but fingers crossed on a game that needs 16gb later.

Here is the PCParts link,

CPU Cooler: CRYORIG H7 49.0 CFM CPU Cooler  ($34.50 @ Newegg)