Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Puppy Linux (Resolved)

Best Answer phillpower2 , 15 January 2016 - 06:33 AM

Hello Chris, Some good reading at the link here and some info that we use on the forums included below; =================== ***Required Hardware*** CD Burner (CDRW) Drive, ... Go to the full post »

• Please log in to reply

Channeal

Channeal

• PipPipPip
  • 879 posts

Although I am not very technically savvy at all, I have for a long time been tempted to play around with using Puppy Linux. There is no real reason for this: the idea of it just fascinated me when I first heard about it (on this forum actually) and I have been toying with the idea of trying it out ever since!

So..... today I very unusually had some spare time all to myself and thought I would try it out. All I managed to do though was read about it on various sites and never got around to actually downloading anything! I - very stupidly - could not work out which version I should download for my computer.  :(  The computer is very nearly ten years old and is still running XP. Please can anybody tell me which version I should download?

Also.... my daughter has an old Sony Vaio laptop which runs Vista (I think). Would the Puppy Linux I download work on her laptop as well? The laptop is about seven years old and she is thinking about buying a new one, so there is a possibility I might inherit the laptop from her, if she can be persuaded to give it to me! I think it might need a lot of maintenance though! :(

Many thanks,

Chris

Advertisements

phillpower2