Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

XP on Restart

• Please log in to reply

CK11851

CK11851

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
Hello ; My name is Chuck and I have a problem with my PC that I have never seen before. Thats not unusual though, since I am a Newbie at this stuff anyway.
The other day I went to start clicked turn off my computer ( running XP Home) and clicked restart . My computer shutdown as usual but failed to restart at the corect time.
I am getting a dos pg. telling me windows will not start due to one of the following, powr surge, needs to restart in safe mode, or restart as usual.
Well I tryed all of the listed ways to start but it had no effect. I jacked with it for a couple days doing all I new to do ) not much) and all I could find to do ( less) to no avail.
Well as a last resort I ran my norton Ghost back up . It worked. My Pc was running again. So I shut it down then started again, No problem. I was happy. So I worked all day on my computer trying to catch up. At the end of the day I was affraid but I shut down anyway, and went to bed. The next mornning I hit the button and, ..crash. It would not boot again! I was ticked. I did the ghost again. Its been running for 6 days now. I would like to shut down but Im affraid it want start. Do You no what kind of problem I am haveing? I dont. Can someone tell me how to get started with out messing something else up? If so, Thank you . Just help some how.

Advertisements

gerryf

gerryf