Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Question about SATA

• Please log in to reply

Phtsalis

Phtsalis

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hey guys this is my first time posting in this forum as well as my first time building a computer.

I've ran into quite the annoying problem when trying to connect 3 SATA devices onto my motherboard.

These are the parts that I'm using:

ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe ATX Mobo
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16813131464

WD Caviar 250GB 7200 RPM SATA HD
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822144154

WD Raptor 73GB 10000 RPM SATA HD
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822144160

Plextor SATA DVD Burner
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16827131329

I wanted to install a system with the OS and my games on the 73G HD for quick access and my music/movie files on the 250GB.

My Mobo has two SATA connectors that are non-RAID and two that are RAID. The problem lies here. My BIOS will not detect anything plugged into the RAID SATA connectors and only detect the two plugged into the non-RAID ones. I've tested this out by switching the connectors around and the BIOS as well as Windows will only detect two SATA devices. They are detected as the third and fourth IDE masters.

As of currently I have the 73G HD and the Plextor DVD plugged into the non-Raid and I have installed Win XP on my 73G to see if I could get Windows to detect my other hard drive. Windows has not detected it.