Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Removing a second operating system (Solved)

Best Answer jamiedot , 25 April 2016 - 09:50 AM

Thank you each of you for your patience and advice. Everything here is fine and you have made an old man very happy. Best Wishes, Jamiedot Go to the full post »

• Please log in to reply

jamiedot

jamiedot

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Hello everyone. Before I detail my problem it is necessary to explain that as far as computer software is concerned I am a highly professional amateur.  If the help you may generously provide is not of the 'monkey see, monkey do' variety I will make a mess of it.

​Currently my OS is Windows 8.1 and I wish to remove XP - a second OS. Searches on the internet have produced a very good site, but the instructions appear to be for an older OS. The instructions fail to work after a few steps because the prompts etc. that are called for, cannot be found (by me) in Windows 8.1.

If anyone can help I will be eternally grateful (with limitations).

Thanks in anticipation,

Jamiedot

Advertisements

phillpower2

phillpower2

Mechanised Mod

• Global Moderator
  • 24,749 posts

:welcome:   Jamiedot,

Can you post an expanded screenshot of Disk Manager which you can access by pressing the WIN and X keys together on your keyboard, alternatively from Windows 8.1 update you can right-click with the mouse or stylus on the Start button to bring up the menu. 

To capture and post a screenshot;