Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

My CD-ROM is not working

• Please log in to reply

Joyyohn

Joyyohn

• Pip
  • 5 posts
hi everyone..im pretty new to this, so i can use all the help i can get! Whenever i try to burn a CD using SonicStage or Cequadrat, all that happens is a whirring sound. I will go to My Computer and click on the E: drive and it says "E:/ is not accessible. The device is not ready. There are two buttons there, Retry & Cancel. I will click Retry repeatedly but nothing happens. The drive that is there is a IDE-CD R/RW 4x4x24 drive. I don't know what's wrong and if anyone can help, I would gladly appreciate it!

Joyyohn :tazz:

Advertisements

austin_o

austin_o

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 2,089 posts
Hi and welcome to Geeks to Go. Does the cd drive show up in device manager? Does it have a yellow ! next to it. Go to start, my computer, right click properties, device manager.

Joyyohn

Joyyohn

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
well it did, but after i did a scan disk, it was gone, and it said (Standard Cd-ROM drive) but then i added a driver by updating the driver and now I have ATAPI CD-ROM SPEED...but when I go to my Computer and right click on E:? to get the properties, it says IDE-CD R/RW 4x4x24, Firmware: C12a.

Now I can't even attempt to burn a CD using SonicStage. But when I am using CeQuadrat, it says Please enter Destination CD even though I already did. I am so frustrated and I have no clue with what's wrong. Thank you for helping me and I hope everything that u advise will work out.

Joyyohn