Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Folder Disappeared!

• Please log in to reply

tm67

tm67

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello! I just found this forum, otherwise I would have posted here sooner. I am a graphic artist and work on computers all the time but when it comes to the "guts" of a computer I'm "slow".

I have a Windows XP computer with an external hard drive attatched to it. About a month ago, a friend was working on my computer. I asked him to remember to turn off the external drive when he shut down. Well, he turned off the external before the computer was completely shut down.

The next morning, I started up the external drive and the computer. I went to access a folder on my external drive that has all my files in it, (music, graphic arts work, resumes, everything...) about 35.5 GB worth of stuff. When I clicked on this folder, I got a message saying that ther was an error and the folder would not open.