Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Help with network adapters

Network adapters

• Please log in to reply

Urhelpgreatlyappreciated

Urhelpgreatlyappreciated

• Pip
  • 1 posts

So I'm seeking help concerning networks. Specifically network adapters. I'm not very tech savvy and could use some helpful input about a concern I've come to have. I've had a neighbor I've known for years and thought was a good guy help me with my pc's when I've encountered problems with them. I was wanting to build a pc that was decent for gaming and a while back he offered me a pc that he said was far superior to the one I had which was plagued with problems often and quite old. Well it wasn't a complete pc he offered but a tower with a motherboard that could receive more RAM cards, a dvd player, cd player, and SM,SD,CF card readers. I purchased a Nvidia video card with some available ram and four 1gb RAM cards on his advice and we spent a few hours putting it all together using the hard discs from my old pc one afternoon. I took it home and have been using it for a while with no problems that I noticed or none that I'm literate enough to identify. But I did always wonder why my network adapter which is a Broadcom Netxtreme Gigabit Ethernet was the only adapter identified in my device manager. Because I remembered my old pc always having several identified and because its identified as 1gb ethernet even though I don't have internet service nearly that fast. Here