Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Stupid questions about AVG

• Please log in to reply

Oppiano Licario

Oppiano Licario

• Pip
  • 2 posts
OK everyone pls indulge me. I am new to all this. My old comp died 2 months ago during a move. It was most likely a physical problem (video board conked out?) but the guy who took on the repair decided to rehaul the whole thing. So where I used to have 32K RAM, 2 Gigs, Windows 95, I am now running on XP, 256K, 4 Gigs, DSL with all sorts of addtl features (DVD player, CD burning etc)

But life has also gotten complicated. In 5+ yrs of owning the comp (bought second-hand from a friend circa 2000), I have never had a virus. Or at least I was blissfully unaware of viruses. Never had any problems I know of that were virus-generated. Got plenty of pop-ups but I always assumed that they came with the territory. Now, within 2 weeks of getting the "new" computer, I am under siege.